Introduction ~ Acknowledgments

SummerTimes at a glance ~ December ~ January ~ February ~ March

Introduction

It wouldn't be summer in Christchurch without SummerTimes. This exciting festival of free outdoor entertainment spanning 11 weeks of summer is proudly brought to you by the Christchurch City Council.

One of the great things about SummerTimes is the enormous variety of entertainment it encompasses. There are events especially for children, opera and rock concerts featuring top local and international artists, a season of theatre for the whole family and of course, the festival's stunning finale, Southpower Classical Sparks, bringing the festival to a close with a spectacular fireworks display!

To make sure you're up to date with the latest SummerTimes information, lock your radio into the festival's official radio station, 92 More FM and keep an eye on The Press and The Star. You can also call the SummerTimes Infoline 24 hours a day for up to date information and details of any cancellations or postponements (see page 5 for details).

Whether you're a Christchurch resident or a visitor to the city, we hope you'll be able to catch some of the festival's events and enjoy their special atmosphere.


For the latest information on the SummerTimes festival, including access for people with disabilities and any cancellations, call the SummerTimes Infoline on 9416 877


SummerTimes at a glance

December ~ January ~ February ~ March


December

Wednesday 31 December
New Years Eve Party

December ~ January ~ February ~ March


January

Monday 5 January
KidsPlay at a park near you

Tuesday 6 January
KidsPlay at a park near you

Wednesday 7 January
KidsPlay at a park near you

Thursday 8 January
KidsPlay at a park near you

Friday 9 January
KidsPlay at a park near you
Press Lunchtime Concerts - The Wylde Takafoleys

Saturday 10 January
KidsPlay at a park near you

Sunday 11 January
Tip Top Ice Cream Teddy Bears Picnic

Friday 16 January
Press Lunchtime Concerts - Five
The Exciting Adventures of Sinbad the Sailor

Saturday 17 January
The Exciting Adventures of Sinbad the Sailor

Sunday 18 January
The Exciting Adventures of Sinbad the Sailor

Tuesday 20 January
The Exciting Adventures of Sinbad the Sailor

Wednesday 21 January
The Exciting Adventures of Sinbad the Sailor

Thursday 22 January
The Exciting Adventures of Sinbad the Sailor

Friday 23 January
Press Lunchtime Concerts - New Zealand Army Band
The Exciting Adventures of Sinbad the Sailor

Saturday 24 January
The Exciting Adventures of Sinbad the Sailor

Sunday 25 January
The Exciting Adventures of Sinbad the Sailor

Tuesday 27 January
The Exciting Adventures of Sinbad the Sailor

Wednesday 28 January
The Exciting Adventures of Sinbad the Sailor

Thursday 29 January
The Exciting Adventures of Sinbad the Sailor

Friday 30 January
Press Lunchtime Concerts - Four by Four
The Exciting Adventures of Sinbad the Sailor

Saturday 31 January
The Exciting Adventures of Sinbad the Sailor


December ~ January ~ February ~ March


February

Sunday 1 February
The Exciting Adventures of Sinbad the Sailor
Municipal Band Concert Series

Tuesday 3 February
The Exciting Adventures of Sinbad the Sailor

Wednesday 4 February
The Exciting Adventures of Sinbad the Sailor

Thursday 5 February
The Exciting Adventures of Sinbad the Sailor

Friday 6 February
The Exciting Adventures of Sinbad the Sailor

Saturday 7 February
The Exciting Adventures of Sinbad the Sailor

Sunday 8 February
Strawberry Fields
Municipal Band Concert Series

Friday 13 February
Press Lunchtime Concerts - Janice Gray and the Boys

Saturday 14 February
Valentines Day Dance

Sunday 15 February
Sweet Suburbia
Municipal Band Concert Series

Friday 20 February
Press Lunchtime Concerts - Canterbury Opera Chorus

Saturday 21 February
Bell South Candlelight Opera

Sunday 22 February
Sweet Suburbia
Municipal Band Concert Series

Friday 27 February
Press Lunchtime Concerts - Plains FM 96.9 10th Birthday Concert


December ~ January ~ February ~ March


March


December ~ January ~ February ~ March


 


Copyright Communications & Promotions Unit ~ Christchurch City Council 1997


Christchurch City Council Start Page