## RICCARTON/WIGRAM COMMUNITY BOARD 15 MAY 2012

Minutes of a meeting of the Riccarton/Wigram Community Board held on Tuesday, 15 May 2012 at 5:30pm in the Community Room, Upper Riccarton Library, 71 Main South Road, Upper Riccarton.

PRESENT: Mike Mora (Chairperson), Helen Broughton, Jimmy Chen, Judy Kirk, and

Peter Laloli.

**APOLOGY:** An apology was received and accepted from Sam Johnson

The Board reports that:

## **PART B - REPORTS FOR INFORMATION**

1. DEPUTATIONS BY APPOINTMENT

Nil.

## 2. PRESENTATION OF PETITIONS

Nil.

#### 3. NOTICES OF MOTION

Nil.

### 4. CORRESPONDENCE

Nil.

## 5. BRIEFINGS

Nil.

## 6. COMMUNITY BOARD ADVISER'S UPDATE

The Board received the Community Adviser's update which constituted the following:

• The Board were advised that the spring bulbs that the Board funded to be planted in Templeton were unable to be planted outside Jones Reserve owing to fibre-optic and power cables in the ground. The bulbs have been planted at Foreman's and Jones' Reserves.

## 7. BOARD MEMBERS' INFORMATION EXCHANGE

- The Board acknowledged the Council's recommendation to the Remuneration Authority to increase the Community Board members' salary by 1.5 percent and that Councillors not receive an increase.
- The Board were advised that Templeton School's 150th Anniversary is approaching.
- The Board discussed the speed limit on Kirk Road/Maddisons Road, mainly in the vicinity of the Waitaha Learning Centre and the issue of a large number of heavy trucks speeding in this area.

# Riccarton/Wigram Community Board 1 May 2012

The Board **agreed** to seek staff advice on speed limits around school zones, specifically implementing a school zone surrounding the Waitaha Learning Centre.

# 8. QUESTIONS UNDER STANDING ORDERS

Nil.

# **PART C - DELEGATED DECISIONS**

# 9. CONFIRMATION OF MEETING MINUTES – 1 MAY 2012

The Board **resolved** that the minutes of the Board's ordinary meeting and public excluded meeting of 1 May 2012 be confirmed.

The Board Chairperson thanked Board members and staff for their attendance and contributions and declared the meeting closed at 5:58pm.

# **CONFIRMED THIS 5TH DAY OF JUNE 2012**

MIKE MORA CHAIRPERSON