

MINUTES OF A MEETING OF THE CHRISTCHURCH CITY COUNCIL HELD AT 9.30AM ON FRIDAY 22 OCTOBER 2010

PRESENT: The Mayor, Bob Parker (Chairperson).

Councillors Helen Broughton, Sally Buck, Ngaire Button, Tim Carter, Jimmy Chen, Barry Corbett, Jamie Gough, Aaron Keown, Glenn Livingstone, Yani Johanson,

Claudia Reid, Sue Wells and Chrissie Williams.

APOLOGIES: Nil.

The meeting commenced with a Mihi from Ms Ariana Tikao, Ngai Tū Ahuriri and a blessing from the Very Reverend Peter Beck, Dean of Christchurch.

1. WELCOME AND INTRODUCTION

2. DECLARATION BY THE MAYOR DULY ATTESTED

The Chief Executive assumed the chair and declared the inaugural meeting open. The Mayor then made the statutory declaration required of him under the provisions of the Local Government Act 2002.

The Mayor's declaration was signed in the presence of the Council and witnessed by the Chief Executive.

3. INSTALLATION OF THE MAYOR

The Mayor then assumed the Chair and addressed the meeting.

4. DECLARATION BY COUNCILLORS, ATTESTED IN THE PRESENCE OF THE MAYOR AND CHIEF EXECUTIVE

All Councillors then declared that they would faithfully and impartially, and according to the best of their skill and judgment, execute and perform, in the best interests of the City of Christchurch, the powers, authorities, and duties vested in or imposed upon them as a member of the Christchurch City Council by virtue of the Local Government Act 2002, the Local Government Official Information and Meetings Act 1987, or any other Act.

The Councillors' declarations were signed in the presence of the Council and witnessed by the Mayor and Chief Executive.

5. REPORT OF THE ELECTORAL OFFICER

It was resolved on the motion of the Mayor, seconded by Councillor Wells that the report be received.

6. EXPLANATION OF STATUTORY REQUIREMENTS

It was **resolved** on the motion of the Mayor, seconded by Councillor Carter, that the report be received.

7. ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

It was **resolved** on the motion of Councillor Johanson seconded by Councillor Broughton that the System A method of voting, with one vote for each member, be adopted for the election of the Deputy Mayor.

Councillor Johanson nominated Councillor Williams as Deputy Mayor. The nomination was seconded by Councillor Chen.

Councillor Broughton nominated Councillor Button as Deputy Mayor. The nomination was seconded by Councillor Corbett.

On a show of hands Councillor Ngaire Button was elected as Deputy Mayor.

Following her election, the Deputy Mayor then took the opportunity to address the meeting.

8. APPOINTMENT OF COUNCILLORS AS MEMBERS OF COMMUNITY BOARDS

It was **resolved** on the motion of Councillor Buck, seconded by Councillor Keown, that the Council appoint to the respective Community Boards the two Councillors from the wards which are situated in each of the Burwood/Pegasus, Hagley/Ferrymead, Fendalton/Waimairi, Riccarton/Wigram, Shirley/Papanui, Spreydon/Heathcote communities and the Councillor from the Banks Peninsula Ward to the Akaroa/Wairewa and Lyttelton/Mt Herbert Community Boards.

9. ADOPTION OF DATE OF FIRST ORDINARY COUNCIL MEETING

It was **resolved** on the motion of Councillor Gough, seconded by Councillor Livingstone pursuant to clause 21(5)(d) of Schedule 7 of the Local Government Act 2002 that the first ordinary meeting of the Council be held on 11 November 2010 at 9.30am.

10. CONCLUSION

The meeting concluded at 10.54am.

CONFIRMED THIS 11TH DAY OF NOVEMBER 2010

MAYOR