#### 9. 12. 2010

#### SHIRLEY/PAPANUI COMMUNITY BOARD 29 OCTOBER 2010

### Minutes of a meeting of the Shirley/Papanui Community Board, (including the installation of members) held on Friday 29 October 2010 at 9.30am in the Boardroom, Papanui Service Centre, corner Langdons Road and Restell Street, Papanui.

- **PRESENT:** Anna Button, Ngaire Button, Kathy Condon, Pauline Cotter, Chris English, Aaron Keown and Chris Mene
- APOLOGIES: Nil.

The Board reports that:

## PART B – REPORTS FOR INFORMATION

#### 1. WELCOME

The Democracy Services Manager, Lisa Goodman, representing the Chief Executive, welcomed all present and outlined the procedures for this meeting.

## 2. EXPLANATION OF STATUTORY REQUIREMENTS

The Board **received** a report by the Legal Services Manager on the provisions of the following legislation:

- (a) Local Government Official Information and Meetings Act 1987,
- (b) Local Authorities (Members' Interests) Act 1968,
- (c) Sections 99, 105 and 105A of the Crimes Act 1961,
- (d) Secret Commissions Act 1910, and
- (e) Securities Act 1978.

## 3. REPORT OF THE ELECTORAL OFFICER

A report from the Electoral Officer setting out the results of the elections held on 9 October 2010 was **received**.

## 4. APPOINTMENT OF COUNCILLORS AS MEMBERS OF COMMUNITY BOARDS

The Board **received** information advising that at its installation meeting on 22 October 2010, the Council had resolved to appoint Councillors Ngaire Button and Aaron Keown to the Shirley/Papanui Community Board for the 2010/13 term.

## 9. 12. 2010

#### Shirley/Papanui Community Board 29.10.2010

#### - 2 -

## PART C – REPORTS ON DELEGATED DECISIONS TAKEN BY THE BOARD

## 5. ORAL DECLARATION BY MEMBERS ATTESTED IN THE PRESENCE OF THE DEMOCRACY SERVICES MANAGER REPRESENTING THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE

Members completed their oral declarations in the presence of the Democracy Services Manager, representing the Chief Executive.

## 6. ELECTION OF CHAIRPERSON

The Board **resolved** that the method of election of the Chairperson be on the basis of open voting.

Nominations were called for the position of Chairperson.

Chris Mene was nominated by Anna Button, seconded by Kathy Condon.

Pauline Cotter was nominated by Aaron Keown. This nomination lapsed for want of a seconder.

(amendment made at the 17 November 2010 Board meeting during the Confirmation of Minutes item, clause 2).

There being no other nomination Chris Mene was elected Chairperson of the Shirley/Papanui Community Board for the 2010/13 term.

## 7. ORAL DECLARATION BY THE CHAIRPERSON ATTESTED IN THE PRESENCE OF THE DEMOCRACY SERVICES MANAGER REPRESENTING THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE

Chris Mene took the oral declaration as Chairperson in the presence of the Democracy Services Manager, representing the Chief Executive and assumed the Chair for the remainder of the meeting.

## 8. ELECTION OF DEPUTY CHAIRPERSON

The Board **resolved** that the method of election of the Deputy Chairperson be on the basis of open voting.

Nominations were called for the position of Deputy Chairperson.

Pauline Cotter was nominated by Aaron Keown, but declined the nomination.

Kathy Condon was nominated by Chris English, seconded by Ngaire Button.

Kathy Condon was elected Deputy Chairperson the Shirley/Papanui Community Board for the 2010/13 term.

### 9. FIRST ORDINARY MEETING OF THE BOARD

The Board **resolved** that the first ordinary meeting of the Shirley/Papanui Community Board be held on Wednesday 17 November 2010 at 4pm in the Boardroom Papanui Service Centre, cnr Langdons Road and Restell Street.

# 10. NEW ZEALAND COMMUNITY BOARDS' EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE ELECTIONS – CALL FOR NOMINATIONS

The Board considered a report calling for nominations for the positions of Zone 5 Representative and Deputy for the New Zealand Community Boards' Executive Committee.

## 9. 12. 2010

### Shirley/Papanui Community Board 29.10.2010

- 3 -

### 10 Cont'd

The Board resolved:

- (a) That the Board Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson, or their nominees, be authorised to consider the opportunity provided for joining with another Christchurch Board(s) in nominating and/or seconding suitable member candidates for election to the positions of Zone 5 Representative, and Deputy, for the New Zealand Community Boards' Executive Committee, noting that the Board supports the nomination of Pauline Cotter.
- (b) That the exercise of any such authorisation be reported to the Board for record purposes.

(Note: Aaron Keown voted against the motion.)

CONSIDERED THIS 17TH DAY OF NOVEMBER 2010

CHRIS MENE CHAIRPERSON