

MINUTES OF A MEETING OF THE CHRISTCHURCH CITY COUNCIL HELD AT 9.34AM ON TUESDAY 7 DECEMBER 2010

PRESENT: The Mayor, Bob Parker (Chairperson).

Councillors Helen Broughton, Sally Buck, Ngaire Button, Tim Carter, Jimmy Chen, Barry Corbett, Jamie Gough, Aaron Keown, Glenn Livingstone, Yani Johanson,

Claudia Reid, Sue Wells, and Chrissie Williams.

1. APOLOGIES

Nil.

2. DEPUTATIONS BY APPOINTMENT

The following deputations were made in respect of item 6 - Earthquake Recovery – Update on City Council's Response:

- 2.1 Leanne Curtis, Evan Smith and Tom McBrearty on behalf of the Canterbury Communities Earthquake Recovery Network (CanCERN).
- 2.2 Bridget Gould and Sally Couper on behalf of the Heathcote Valley Play Centre and Canterbury Pay Centre Association.
- 2.3 Judit Tardi Small and Medium Enterprises Action Group.

3. PRESENTATION OF PETITIONS

Nil.

4. NOTICES OF MOTION

Nil.

5. APPOINTMENT OF A CHRISTCHURCH CITY COUNCILLOR TO THE CANTERBURY EARTHQUAKE HERITAGE BUILDING FUND TRUST

It was **resolved** on the motion of Councillor Keown, seconded by Councillor Johanson, that the Council appoint Councillor Broughton to the Canterbury Earthquake Heritage Building Fund Trust.

6. EARTHQUAKE RECOVERY – UPDATE ON CITY COUNCIL'S RESPONSE

It was **resolved** on the motion of the Mayor, seconded by Councillor Williams, that the Council receive the information contained within this report.

Councillor Johanson moved:

That the Council meet urgently with the Economic Taskforce and local MPs to discuss business support post earthquake.

The motion was seconded by Councillor Broughton and when put to the meeting was declared carried unanimously.

The Council asked staff that future reports on this issue contain two separate schedules: the first regarding cordoned buildings; the other regarding clearance of roads. Additional statistics were requested for future reports detailing such relevant information as building consent applications, numbers of properties affected, possible congestion points, and overall progress.

7. RESOLUTION TO BE PASSED - SUPPLEMENTARY REPORTS

It was **resolved** on the motion of the Mayor, seconded by Councillor Button, that the Council receive and consider the following reports at the meeting of the Council on 7 December 2010.

- 1. Appointment of Councillors to Joint Committees and Outside Organisations.
- 2. Establishment of Policy Review and Operational Committees.

8. APPOINTMENT OF COUNCILLORS TO JOINT COMMITTEES AND OUTSIDE ORGANISATIONS

It was **resolved** on the motion of the Mayor, seconded by Councillor Button, that appointments be made to the following joint committees and outside organisations:

- (i) Canterbury Development Corporation Trust:
 - The Mayor.
- (ii) Destination Christchurch Trust:
 - Councillor Button
- (iii) Canterbury Museum Trust Board:
 - The Mayor
 - Councillor Chen
 - · Councillor Reid.
- (iv) Canterbury Regional Transport Committee:
 - Chair of the Transport Committee
 - Alternate The Mayor.
- (v) Canterbury Regional Landfill and Waste Joint Committees:
 - Councillor Buck
 - Councillor Keown
 - Councillor Livingstone.
- (vi) Christchurch Agency for Energy Trust:
 - The Mayor
 - · Councillor Buck.
- (vii) Mayor's Welfare Fund Trust:
 - Councillor Broughton
 - Councillor Gough
- (viii) Riccarton Bush Trust:
 - Councillor Chen
 - Mr Bob Shearing.
- (ix) The New Zealand Local Authority Traffic Institute (TRAFINZ):
 - Delegate appointment to Transport Committee
- (x) Road Safety Committee:
 - Councillor Carter
 - Councillor Johanson.
- (xi) Creative Communities Funding Subcommittee:
 - Councillor Buck
 - Councillor Chen
 - Councillor Broughton
 - Councillor Johanson.

- 3 -

- (xii) Urban Development Strategy Implementation Committee:
 - Councillor Reid
 - Councillor Wells
 - Councillor Williams
 - Alternate The Mayor.

9. ESTABLISHMENT OF POLICY REVIEW AND OPERATIONAL COMMITTEES

It was resolved on the motion of the Mayor, seconded by Councillor Button, that the Council:

- (a) Establish the following Policy Review and Operational Committees:
 - Long Term Plan Committee
 - Metropolitan Funding Committee
 - Regulatory and Planning Committee
 - Transport Committee
 - Water and Waste Water Committee
 - Central City Committee
 - Heritage and Arts Committee
 - Communications Committee
 - Housing and Community Facilities Committee
 - Audit and Risk Management Subcommittee
 - CEO Performance Review and Remuneration Subcommittee.
- (b) Appoint the members and chairs of the above committees as prescribed in Attachment 1 to the agenda (noted below):

Long Term Plan Committee:

- The Mayor (Chair)
- All Councillors

Metropolitan Funding Committee:

- The Mayor and all Councillors
- Councillor Corbett (Chair)

Regulatory and Planning Committee:

- Councillor Broughton
- Councillor Buck
- Councillor Carter
- Councillor Chen
- Councillor Gough
- Councillor Johanson
- Councillor Livingstone
- Councillor Reid
- Councillor Wells (Chair)
- Councillor Williams

Transport Committee:

- Councillor Carter
- Councillor Chen
- Councillor Corbett
- Councillor Keown
- Councillor Wells
- Councillor Williams (Chair).

Water and Waste Water Committee:

- Councillor Button
- Councillor Chen
- Councillor Keown
- Councillor Reid (Chair)
- Councillor Williams

Central City Committee:

- The Mayor (Chair)
- Councillor Button
- Councillor Carter
- Councillor Gough
- Councillor Keown
- Councillor Reid.

Heritage and Arts Committee:

- Councillor Broughton (Chair)
- Councillor Buck
- Councillor Corbett
- Councillor Johanson
- Councillor Livingstone

Communications Committee:

- Councillor Buck
- Councillor Corbett
- Councillor Gough
- Councillor Johanson (Chair)
- Councillor Wells

Housing and Community Facilities Committee:

- Councillor Button
- Councillor Johanson
- Councillor Keown
- Councillor Livingstone (Chair)
- Councillor Williams

Audit and Risk Management Subcommittee:

- Councillor Broughton
- Councillor Buck (Chair)
- Councillor Chen
- Councillor Gough
- Councillor Williams

CEO Performance Review and Remuneration Subcommittee:

- The Mayor (Chair)
- Councillor Broughton
- Councillor Carter
- Councillor Corbett
- Councillor Livingstone
- Councillor Wells
- (c) Committees may be established and disestablished as required during the Council term.

The meeting concluded at 10.58am

CONFIRMED THIS 16TH DAY OF DECEMBER 2010