11.06.2009

AKAROA/WAIREWA COMMUNITY BOARD LYTTELTON/MT HERBERT COMMUNITY BOARD JOINT EXTRAORDINARY MEETING

21 APRIL 2009

Minutes of the Extraordinary Joint Meeting of the Akaroa/Wairewa Community Board and the Lyttelton/Mt Herbert Community Board held on Tuesday 21 April 2009 at 9.30am in the Boardroom of the Little River Service Centre, Little River.

PRESENT: Stewart Miller (Chairman), Paula Smith, Jeremy Agar,

Jane Chetwynd, Doug Couch, Ann Jolliffe, Dawn Kottier, Bryan Morgan, Claudia Reid, Pam Richardson, and Eric Ryder.

The Board reports that:

PART B - REPORTS FOR INFORMATION

1. SPARC RURAL TRAVEL FUND FOR BANKS PENINSULA WARD

The Boards considered a staff report regarding the allocation of funds from the 2008/09 SPARC Rural Travel fund within the Banks Peninsula area.

Members were informed that the focus for this rural funding allocation is to encourage young people in the rural areas to participate in sport and did not necessarily have to be for teams associated with a "sports" club but could also be a youth group or similar. However, individuals did not qualify for a travel fund if they chose to play a sport and became a member of another team outside the qualifying area.

The report and accompanying recommendations from the Boards were submitted to the Council meeting on 14 May 2009 as a report from the Chairmen.

The Boards **decided** to write to SPARC thanking them for the contribution this fund makes to the Banks Peninsula communities and requesting the continuation of the fund based on local examples of need.

The meeting concluded at 10am.

CONFIRMED THIS 13TH DAY OF MAY 2009

STEWART MILLER CHAIRMAN

CONFIRMED THIS 19TH DAY OF MAY 2009

PAULA SMITH CHAIRPERSON