CHRISTCHURCH CITY COUNCIL

THE PROPOSED CHRISTCHURCH CITY COUNCIL SPEED LIMIT BYLAW 2010 HEARINGS PANEL

Notes of the meeting held in the Council Chamber, Civic Offices on Thursday 3 December 2009, commencing at 1.45pm.

PRESENT: Councillors David Cox (Chairman), Gail Sheriff and

Mike Wall.

IN ATTENDANCE: Barry Cook (Team Leader Network Operations and

Traffic Systems), Malcolm Taylor (Traffic Engineer – Community), and Warren Brixton (Committee Adviser).

PROPOSED SPEED BYLAW 2010

A report from the Traffic Engineer – Community, set out the purpose of the proposed bylaw as providing a mechanism for setting speed limits for all roads under its jurisdiction. The proposed bylaw will replace two existing bylaws relating to speed, the Christchurch City Speed Limits Bylaw 2005, and the Banks Peninsula District Council Speed Limit Bylaw 2005.

The Council at its meeting on 24 September 2009, adopted the proposed Speed Limit Bylaw for consultation.

The Special Consultation Procedure was carried out from 30 September to 2 November 2009, with no submissions having been received. However, since that date one submission from the 'Spokes Canterbury Cyclists Association' was received.

It was **resolved** that the Hearings Panel recommends to the Council that it:

- (a) Adopt the Christchurch City Council Speed Limits Bylaw 2010.
- (b) Give public notice as soon as practicable, that the Christchurch City Council Speed Limit Bylaw 2010 has been adopted by the Council, that it comes into effect on 1 January 2010, and that copies of the bylaw will be made available.

The meeting concluded at 1.55pm.