CHRISTCHURCH CITY COUNCIL

MINUTES OF A MEETING OF THE CANTERBURY REGIONAL LANDFILL JOINT COMMITTEE

Held in the No 3 Committee Room, Civic Offices On Monday 11 August 2008 at 9.30am

PRESENT: Councillor Sally Buck (Chairperson)(Christchurch City

Council),

Councillor Robbie Brine (Waimakariri District Council),

Mayor Garry Jackson (Hurunui District Council),

Councillor Bev Tasker (Ashburton District Council), and

Councillor Mike Wall (Christchurch City Council).

APOLOGIES: Apologies for absence were received and accepted from:

Councillor Lindsay Philps (Selwyn District Council), Councillor Bob Shearing (Christchurch City Council), and Don Young and Kitty Waghorn (Waimakariri District

Council).

IN ATTENDANCE: Simon Collin (Christchurch City Council),

Zefanja Potgieter (Christchurch City Council),

Tony McKendry (Committee Adviser, Christchurch City

Council).

1. MINUTES OF MEETING 14 JULY 2008

It was **resolved** that the minutes of the Canterbury Regional Landfill Joint Committee held on 14 July 2008 be confirmed.

2. MATTERS ARISING

Nil.

3. APPOINTMENT OF DIRECTOR – TRANSWASTE CANTERBURY LTD (TCL)

Councillor Robbie Brine retired from the discussion and voting on the above item.

The report submitted by Tony McKendry, Committee Adviser, outlining the recommendations from Sheffield Ltd in respect of the appointment of a director on the Board of Transwaste Canterbury Ltd was considered by the Joint Committee.

The Committee **resolved** to appoint Councillor Robbie Brine to the Board of Transwaste Canterbury Ltd as a nominee director, with effect from 11 August 2008 up to 10 August 2011.

4. RESOLUTION TO EXCLUDE THE PUBLIC [SECTION 7(2)(A)] – PROTECTION OF PRIVACY OF NATURAL PERSONS

The Committee $\bf resolved$ to adopt the resolution to exclude the public set out on page 4 of the agenda relating to clause 3 – "Appointment of Director – Transwaste Canterbury Ltd (TCL)" be adopted.

The meeting concluded at 9.38am.