CHRISTCHURCH CITY COUNCIL

MINUTES OF A MEETING OF THE CANTERBURY REGIONAL LANDFILL JOINT COMMITTEE

Held in the No. 3 Committee Room, Civic Offices on Monday 8 October 2007 at 10am.

PRESENT: Councillor Sally Buck (Chairperson),

Councillor Robbie Brine (Waimakariri District Council),

Mayor Garry Jackson (Hurunui District Council), Councillor Lindsay Philps (Selwyn District Council), Councillor Bob Shearing (Christchurch City Council), Councillor Bev Tasker (Ashburton District Council).

IN ATTENDANCE: Mark Christison, Simon Collin, Zefanja Potgieter

(Christchurch City Council),

Sally Cracknell (Hurunui District Council), Don Young (Waimakariri District Council), Dave Hock (Selwyn District Council) and

Kevin Roche (Christchurch City Council, Committee

Secretary).

APOLOGIES: Apologies for absence were received and accepted from

Councillors Sue Wells and Jane Parfitt and from Dave Hock (Selwyn District Council) for lateness.

1. MINUTES OF MEETING OF 13 AUGUST 2007

It was **resolved** that the minutes of the Canterbury Regional Landfill Joint Committee meeting of 13 August 2007, be confirmed as true and correct record.

2. MATTERS ARISING

Nil.

3. CORRESPONDENCE

3.1 Kaikoura District Council.

Members discussed the correspondence of 24 August 2007 from Mr Stuart Grant, Chief Executive, Kaikoura District Council, which had enquired about becoming involved as one of the contributing territorial authorities to the Canterbury Regional Landfill. The Kaikoura District Council had sought information on the process and steps involved if that option was acceptable to the existing members.

Members discussed the background to the original formation of the Joint Committee and the possible inclusion of Kaikoura at that time, and the issues that might arise in relation to the existing landfill consent in terms of truck volumes, waste management plans, the transport equalisation scheme and legal costs.

It was **resolved** that the Manager, City Water and Waste Unit, Christchurch City Council arrange a meeting between relevant staff and Mr Stuart Grant to determine in more detail the wishes of the Kaikoura District Council and the options that might be available. It was agreed that Mr Don Young, (Waimakariri District Council), also attend this meeting. It was noted that a report back would be made to the Joint Committee later in 2007.

3.2 Transwaste Canterbury – Notice of Annual General Meeting.

Notice was received from Mr Steven Watson, Secretary Transwaste Canterbury Ltd of the Annual General Meeting for Transwaste Canterbury Ltd to be held on Friday 19 October 2007 at 11am. It was noted that the Joint Committee had the right to appoint one voting representative to the Annual General Meeting and that individual Councils were entitled as shareholders to attend the Annual General Meeting as well.

It was **resolved** that Councillor Bev Tasker attend the Annual General Meeting of Transwaste Canterbury Ltd on 19 October 2007 as the voting representative of the Canterbury Regional Landfill Joint Committee.

(Note: Councillor Bob Shearing tendered his apologies for this meeting.)

4. **REAPPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS**

The Chairperson took the opportunity to remind members of the requirement for member Councils to reappoint/review the appointment of their members to the Joint Committee following the triennial election.

The information was **received**.

The meeting concluded at 10.20am.