

MINUTES OF A MEETING OF THE CHRISTCHURCH CITY COUNCIL HELD AT 9.30AM ON THURSDAY 3 MARCH 2005

PRESENT: The Mayor, Garry Moore (Chairperson).

Councillors Helen Broughton, Sally Buck, Graham Condon, Barry Corbett, David Cox, Anna Crighton, Carole Evans, Pat Harrow, Bob Shearing, Gail Sheriff, Sue Wells and

Norm Withers.

1. APOLOGIES

An apology for lateness was received and accepted from Councillor Pat Harrow.

2. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

COUNCIL MEETING OF 24 FEBRUARY 2005

Resolved: That the minutes of the Council meeting held on Thursday 24 February 2005 be confirmed.

3. DEPUTATIONS BY APPOINTMENT

Nil.

4. PRESENTATION OF PETITIONS

Nil.

5. CORRESPONDENCE

Nil.

6. APPOINTMENT OF COUNCIL REPRESENTATIVE ON RICCARTON BUSH TRUST

Resolved: That the Council appoint Councillor Pat Harrow as the remaining Council representative on the Riccarton Bush Trust.

(Councillor Pat Harrow joined the meeting at 9.35am)

7. LICHFIELD LANES PARKING RESTRICTIONS AND OUTDOOR DINING DEVELOPMENTS

Resolved: That the staff recommendations be adopted, subject to the following amendment:

(d) P5 loading sign – delete the word "on" in the second line and replace with the word "to".

8. NOTICES OF MOTION

(1) Rubbish Bags

It was reported that as it sought the revocation of a previous Council resolution, the Notice of Motion needed to be signed by not less than one third of the members of the Council, to comply with clause 2.17.1 of the Council's Standing Orders.

It was **resolved** that Councillors Shearing, Broughton, Corbett and Harrow and the Mayor sign the Notice of Motion to enable it to be considered at the meeting.

- 2 -

Consideration was then given to the Notice of Motion submitted by Councillor Shearing, seeking that for this coming year and for the future, this Council return to its former practice of providing 52 rubbish bags to its residents and businesses.

On being put to the meeting the motion was declared **lost** on division no 1 by 9 votes to 4, the voting being as follows:

Against (9): Councillors Buck, Condon, Corbett, Crighton, Evans, Sheriff, Wells,

Withers and the Mayor.

For (4): Councillors Broughton, Cox, Harrow and Shearing.

9. QUESTIONS

Nil.

10. CONCLUSION

The meeting concluded at 10.45am.

CONFIRMED THIS 10TH DAY OF MARCH 2005

MAYOR