11. CITY OF CHRISTCHURCH ENVIRONMENTAL AWARDS 2002

Officer responsible Director of Policy	Author Jonathan Fletcher, DDI 371-1528
--	---

The purpose of this report is to seek the Council's confirmation that they want to run these awards this year and if so to establish a judging panel.

In September 1996 the Council approved an annual environmental award being established. The awards were first made in 1998 and have been made annually since then. One award each year is made in each of three categories:

- The Natural Environment
- The Built Environment
- Services to the Environment

The 2002 Awards will be administered through Our City. If the awards are to be offered this year the Council needs to establish a judging panel. In previous years this has consisted of a combination of external expert appointees and Councillors, and it is suggested that this be the case this year. The external appointees last year were Sir Miles Warren, Brian Molloy and John Dryden. It is proposed that these three be re-appointed to the panel for the 2002 Awards, subject to them confirming their availability. It is also suggested that the appropriate Council appointees could be the Chairs of the Culture and Heritage, Urban Planning and Growth, and Parks Gardens and Waterways Committees.

Note: The Award Panel is an unpaid judging panel.

Recommendation: That the Strategy and Finance Committee:

- 1. Confirm that it wishes to run the City of Christchurch Environmental Awards in 2002.
- 2. Agree that the three external appointees used last year be approached regarding their willingness and availability for this year.
- 3. Identify three Councillors to also be on the Award Panel.

Chair's Recommendation:

- 1. That the above recommendation be adopted.
- 2. That the Council appointees on the Awards Panel be Councillors Anna Crighton, Sally Buck and Carole Anderton.