## 4. APPOINTMENT OF ALTERNATE DIRECTORS - TRANSWASTE CANTERBURY LTD

Officer responsible	Author
City Water and Waste Manager	Zefanja Potgieter, DDI 371 1271

The purpose of this report is to recommend that two alternate directors to the Transwaste Canterbury Ltd board be appointed.

On 19 November 2001 the Committee appointed Councillors Bill Woods and Denis O'Rourke as two of its four directors to the Transwaste Canterbury Ltd board. (The other two appointed Subcommittee directors are 'specialist' advisers Mr Gerald Clemens and Mr Gill Cox who are not members of the Subcommittee.)

Contingencies might arise which preclude one or both of Councillors Woods and O'Rourke from attending a specific Transwaste Canterbury Ltd board meeting, which necessitates alternate directors. The Subcommittee should therefore appoint two alternate directors from those members who represent councils participating in the new proposed regional landfill project.

**Recommendation:** That two alternate directors to the Transwaste Canterbury Ltd board be appointed.

## Chairman's Recommendation:

That Councillor Ron Wright be appointed as alternate director for Councillor O'Rourke, and that Councillor Bryon Porteous be appointed as alternate director for Councillor Bill Woods.

(Note: As this item is one relating to the operation of Transwaste Canterbury Ltd in terms of clauses 3(a) and 11(a) of the constituting agreement, only those councils holding shares in the joint venture company may vote on this item.)