## 3. ELECTION OF DEPUTY CHAIRPERSON

Officer responsible	Author
Council Secretary	Lorna Holton, DDI 371-1437

The purpose of this report is to invite the Committee to call for nominations and to elect a Deputy Chairperson for the Community Plan Special Committee for the next three years.

The Local Government Act 1974, Section 114L (3), confers power upon the local authority to appoint the Chairperson of any Committee. It also states that, "Any committee may from time to time appoint a Deputy Chairperson to act in the absence of the Chairperson".

At the Council meeting of 8 November 2001, Councillor Ingrid Stonhill was appointed by the Council as the Chairperson of the Community Plan Special Committee. Although a Deputy Chairperson for the Committee was also indicated in the membership list, a formal appointment needs to be made by the Committee in accordance with Section 114L (3) of the Local Government Act.

## Chairman's

**Recommendation:** That Councillor Carole Evans be nominated as Deputy Chairperson.