9. SPREYDON-HEATHCOTE COMMUNITY FUNDING COMMITTEE

Officer responsible Community Advocate, Beckenham	Writer Jane Parrett, Community Development Advisor
Corporate Plan Output: Community Funding	

The purpose of this report is to seek membership confirmation for community representatives for the term 2000-2003 on the Spreydon Heathcote Community Funding Committee.

For the Board's information previous community representatives completed their three year term at the end of 1999. Ms Kororia Crump, Mr Henry Siave, Mr Tony Rhodes and Mr Tony Waters have provided valuable input and expertise for the Committee and have been a pleasure to work with at all times. Of the four community representatives only Mr Tony Waters wished to continue for another term. For those members not seeking re-election the Funding Committee has acknowledged their contributions by way of a card and book of their choice.

Nominations were called for at the end of 1999. Board members on the Funding Committee considered these nominations and the following appointments are recommended:

Community Representatives: Tony Waters

Ivan Thomson

Freedom Preston-Clark

Maori Representative: Angela Mulqueen

Sport Canterbury: Sport Canterbury has advised that their representative

(as required by the Hillary Commission) is Tony

Harvey

These selections were made based on obtaining a spread of strengths in the community development, sporting and recreation areas, and local knowledge, in addition to considering fair representation of gender, age and ethnicity.

Recommendation: That the Board ratify the Funding Committee's appointment

recommendations of community representatives to the Spreydon Heathcote Community Funding Committee for the period of 2000 –

2003.