10. CATHEDRAL SQUARE: STRUCTURE ON STREET - OLD CHIEF POST OFFICE

Officer responsible	Author
City Streets Manager	Peter Atkinson , Area Engineer (Central City)
Corporate Plan Output: On Street Management	

The purpose of this report is to seek the Council approval to change an existing structure on street to provide access to the Old Chief Post Office building.

An application has been made by consultants employed by the new property owner to change the existing entrances to the site which is located in the south western quadrant in Cathedral Square. This application relates to a change to the existing structure on the street.

At present there are three entrances to the former Chief Post office building along the northern face of the building. It is proposed to replace the existing ramp, at the central entrance, with steps. The ramp for disabled persons will be located within the building at the eastern entrance of the complex. These works are illustrated on the attached plan.

The steps are proposed to extend into the Square a distance of 2.5 metres for a width of 7.5 metres. They will consist of a step and a platform, which is situated 320mm above the level of the Square. The existing ramp extends into the Square a distance of 1.5 metres and a width of 9 metres.

The proposed changes are considered to be an improvement, compared with the existing structure and are supported by officers of the Policy and Planning Unit and City Street Unit.

Recommendation: That the existing structure adjacent to the central entrance to the old Chief Post Office building be replaced with the steps, as illustrated in the attached diagram, at no cost to the Council.

This report is to be considered by the City Services Committee, but has been referred to the Environment Committee for comment.

City Services Committee recommendations:

Recommendation:	1.	That the comments of the Environment Committee be sought before the application is approved.
	2.	That a subcommittee be appointed with power to act after hearing the comments of the Environment Committee.
	3.	That the subcommittee comprise Councillors Denis O'Rourke and Ron Wright.

Environment Committee Chairperson's recommendations:

- 2. That a subcommittee be appointed with power to act.
- 3. That the subcommittee comprise Councillors Denis O'Rourke, Ron Wright and Anna Crighton.