This page is not a current Christchurch City Council document. Please read our disclaimer.
Media Releases
  Media Releases


Entries now open for 2008 Shirley/Papanui Heritage Awards

17 July 2008

Entries have opened for the annual Shirley/Papanui Community Board and Rehua Marae Heritage Awards.

This is the seventh year of the partnership between the Board and Rehua Marae.

“The emphasis is on local and community heritage within the ward area, and is seen as a positive way to recognise effort made in the preservation and conservation of our heritage, but at this local level,” says Shirley/Papanui Community Board Chair Megan Evans.

This year’s theme is Nga tapuwae o matou Tupuna…Footsteps of our Ancestors.

“This programme celebrates not only places and objects of historical significance but more importantly the values and principles of our tipuna, our ancestors,” says Secretary of Rēhua Marae Dr Terry Ryan.

“It is this depth of history that we carry into the future and pass on to our children and our children’s children. It defines who we are and where we come from, which in turn influences and shapes our relationships with each other.”

The awards recognise efforts in the following categories:

  • Heritage Retention: for the preservation of heritage buildings, places or objects that were in danger of loss or demolition.
  • Heritage Conservation: for projects undertaken where the heritage fabric or form was maintained as much as possible.
  • Heritage Maintenance - “Good Caretaker Award”: for good and regular maintenance in an appropriate fashion for an item or place of cultural heritage.
  • Heritage Development: for significant, large-scale development ensuring a compatible or continued use of a heritage item or place.
  • Heritage Education and Exploration: for initiatives undertaken by individuals or community groups to research, communicate and/or promote the heritage of the community.
  • Heritage Involvement - Children and Young People: for projects aimed at the development of heritage awareness and understanding among young people in the community.
  • Māori Heritage: for the preservation of places associated with cultural traditions and customs of Tangata Whenua, including natural features and landmarks.

Applicants should include all relevant information with their entries, such as photographs and project histories.

Applications close Friday 29 August, 2008, with the awards presented at a ceremony at the Rehua Marae, from 9am on Wednesday 8 October.

An information brochure with further details on the awards is available from the Papanui Service Centre.

Top of Page ~ Media Release index

This page is not a current Christchurch City Council document. Please read our disclaimer.
© Christchurch City Council, Christchurch, New Zealand | Contact the Council