This page is not a current Christchurch City Council document. Please read our disclaimer.
Media Releases
  Media Releases


Final election result confirms preliminary count

18 October 2007

The final election result shows no change to the preliminary list of winners in the Christchurch City elections.   The new Mayor is Bob Parker and with Helen Broughton, Sally Buck, Ngaire Button, Barry Corbett, David Cox, Yani Johanson, Claudia Reid, Bob Shearing, Gail Sheriff, Mike Wall, Chrissie Williams, Norm Withers and Sue Wells they comprise the next City Council.  They will take their oaths of office at the inaugural Council meeting on Wednesday 24 October.

The members of the Akaroa-Wairewa Community Board are Stewart Miller and Bryan Morgan.

The members of the Burwood-Pegasus Community Board are Nigel Dixon, David East, Tina Lomax, Tim Sintes and Linda Stewart.

The members of the Fendalton-Waimari Community Board are Faimeh Burke, Val Carter, Cheryl Colley, Jamie Gough and Andrew Yoon.

The members of the Hagley-Ferrymead Community Board are Rod Cameron, Tim Maurice Philip Carter, John Freeman, Brenda Lowe-Johnson and Bob Todd.

The members of the Lyttelton-Mount Herbert Community Board are Jeremy Agar, Douglas Falcon Herewini Couch, Ann Jolliffe, Dawn Te-Riaki Kottier and Paula Smith.

The members of the Riccarton-Wigram Community Board are Jimmy Chen, Beth Dunn, Judy Kirk, Peter Laloli and Mike Mora.

The members of the Shirley-Papanui Community Board are Pauline Cotter, Megan Evans, Aaron Keown, Matt Morris and Yvonne Palmer.

The members of the Spreydon-Heathcote Community Board are Oscar Alpers, Phil Clearwater, Chris Mene, Karolin Potter and Tim Scandrett.

The dates of the inaugural meetings of the Community Boards are yet to be determined.

Christchurch City Electoral Officer Max Robertson will publish the final election result on Monday 22 October.  “The successful candidates will assume office on Tuesday 23 October 2007, being the day following publication of the declaration” Mr Robertson says.  “The former members will go out of office at the same time.”

The full details of the vote count are in Mr Robertson’s report which is attached and are also available on the Council’s website:

The final voter return percentage for Christchurch City was 41.73 percent , including special votes.

For further information, please contact:

Max Robertson DDI 03-941-8533, mobile 027 229 1735.



Top of Page ~ Media Release index

This page is not a current Christchurch City Council document. Please read our disclaimer.
© Christchurch City Council, Christchurch, New Zealand | Contact the Council