This page is not a current Christchurch City Council document. Please read our disclaimer.
Media Releases
  Media Releases


Native Gardens Awards winners announced

5 April 2007

Native Gardens Awards winners announced


This year’s winners of the annual Native Garden Awards show Christchurch homeowners are prepared to use native plants in creative ways, the convenor says.

Neiel Drain, Native Garden Awards Convenor ,says this year’s awards show people are prepared to find different ways to use native plants, drawing on the natural habitat and growing environment of each plant.  

The Native Gardens Award is an initiative of the Christchurch City Council and Canterbury Horticultural Society to recognise Christchurch Gardens that represent and display New Zealand native plants and habitats. It is open to all private, community, institution and commercial gardens in the city.

“The aim of the award is to reward gardeners who make a contribution to Christchurch’s heritage and biodiversity,’’ Mr Drain says. “Gardens make a real difference to Christchurch’s wider landscape and how we are perceived.’’

As well as making an effort to grow plants which are indigenous to the area, some gardeners are using them to attract native birds back to the city, he says.

“This fits in with native plantings in Council reserves which provide a corridor for birds who can feed on plants throughout the city,’’ says Mr Drain.

A growing number of schools are entering the awards which judges were pleased to see, he says

“It is great that pupils are not only involved in  the planting but in the on-going care of the plants. They can be a learning tool for students and their families who can see and understand how they can be used,’’

“We are really coming of age in Christchurch with many people having an appreciation of our heritage. This is reflected in our aim to recover and reinstate plants  in our urban environment.’’

Award of Merit

Dawn Blackie, Cashmere: Ula Christian, Spreydon; Cornwall Gardens, St Albanss; Barry Gadsby, St Albans; Bill & Helen McIlroy, Hornby; Fraser Maddigan, Mt Pleasant; JM Robertson & RW Mark, Ferrymead; Keith West,City Central; Erica & Richard Seville, Richmond and RS Woods, Redcliffs                                       Certificate of Merit

Bromley School,  Cashmere Primary School; Pat & Tony Gurnsey, Halswell; Sue & Dave Hirst, Scarborough; Frank Hutching,North New Brighton; Ian & Joanne McKeown, Papanui; Erica Middleton, St Albans; Jane Shearer & Chris Nelson; Sumner; Sumner School; Alex Syddall, Mt Pleasant; Texco Group, Bromley; Brian Walsh & Louise McDonald, Hoon Hay; Chrissie Williams & Graham Allan, South New Brighton; Tracy Woodward, Redcliffs; Steve & Mandy Zwartz, Queenspark




Top of Page ~ Media Release index

This page is not a current Christchurch City Council document. Please read our disclaimer.
© Christchurch City Council, Christchurch, New Zealand | Contact the Council