This page is not a current Christchurch City Council document. Please read our disclaimer.
Media Releases
  Media Releases


Preliminary election results for Christchurch City Mayor, City Council, Community Boards and Canty Regional Council

9 October 2004

Garry Moore has been re-elected as Mayor of Christchurch City. Mr Moore will chair a group of 12 councillors, 11 of whom were also standing for re-election.

Christchurch electoral officer Max Robertson this evening (9 October) announced the preliminary results of elections for the Christchurch City mayoralty, city council and community boards and for ECan -- the Canterbury regional council.

The 12 city councillors are Norm Withers, Graham Condon (Shirley-Papanui ward), Pat Harrow, Sally Buck (Fendalton-Waimairi), Carole Evans, Gail Sheriff (Burwood-Pegasus), Helen Broughton, Bob Shearing (Riccarton-Wigram), David Cox, Anna Crighton (Hagley-Ferrymead), Barry Corbett, Sue Wells (Spreydon-Heathcote).

The 30 successful candidates for the six Christchurch City Council community boards are:

  • Shirley-Papanui: Megan Evans, Yvonne Palmer, Ngaire Button, Bill Bush and Myra Barry
  • Fendalton-Waimairi: Mike Wall, Val Carter, Cheryl Colley, Andrew Yoon and Faimeh Burke
  • Burwood-Pegasus: Don Rowlands, Glenda Burt, Carmen Hammond, Caroline Kellaway and Tina Lomax
  • Riccarton-Wigram: Lesley Keast, Mike Mora, Peter Laloli, Neville Bennett and Tony Sutcliffe. Note: Bob Shearing was the highest-polling candidate but, because he automatically has a seat on the board as a result of his election to the City Council, he vacates his elected spot in favour of the sixth-highest polling candidate -- Tony Sutcliffe.
  • Hagley-Ferrymead: Bob Todd, Yani Johanson, Brendan Smith, John Freeman and Brenda Lowe-Johnson
  • Spreydon-Heathcote: Chris Mene, Phil Clearwater, Oscar Alpers, Paul de Spa and Megan Woods.


The successful candidates for the Ecan constituencies are Judy Waters and Anne Carroll (Christchurch North), Alec Neill and Nicky Wagner (Christchurch West), Richard Budd and Elizabeth Cunningham (Christchurch East), Kerry Burke and Bob Kirk (Christchurch South).


  • Full results are available on the Council website, at 
  • The voter return percentage was 38.5%, excluding special votes, says Mr Robertson.
  • Note: the declaration and public notice of the official result is expected to be made between 13 and 16 October

Top of Page ~ Media Release index

This page is not a current Christchurch City Council document. Please read our disclaimer.
© Christchurch City Council, Christchurch, New Zealand | Contact the Council