This page is not a current Christchurch City Council document. Please read our disclaimer.

Christchurch City Council Media Release 25 November 1998

Christchurch Art Gallery Architectural Competition/Panel Of Assessors


Thomas Dixon

B. Arch F.N.Z.I.A R.I.B.A

Panel Chair and Convenor

Principal, Pepper Dixon Architects Ltd

Specialist expertise in the design of Galleries and Museums. Architectural advisor to the Museum of New Zealand Project Development Board.


Professor Daryl Le Grew

BMArch., Registered Architect, Professor of Architecture

Vice Chancellor, University of Canterbury

Past Dean of the Faculty of Architecture at Deakin University

Architectural Advisor for the redevelopment of the National Gallery of Victoria and the redevelopment of the Museum of Victoria

Past member of the Council for the Museum of Victoria


Anthony Preston

B.A. (Fine Arts) post-grad. Dip.Ed., Dip. Museum Studies

M.M.I (Berkeley) F.R.S.A.(London), M.A.C.E.

Director, Robert McDougall Art Gallery

Trustee of the Christchurch Civic Art Gallery Trust

Previously the Chief Education Officer for the National Gallery of Victoria


Albert Louman

Registered Architect. ANZIA

Major Projects Co-ordinator, Christchurch City Council

Former City Architect, Christchurch City Council



Cath Brown

J.P. QSM.Dip.tchg.TTC

Past Head of the Art Department, Christchurch College of Education

Taumutu Representative on Te Runanga O Ngai Tahu

Ngai Tahu representative on the Arts and Art Education

Practising Artist


Lyn Campbell

Children's Advocate, Christchurch City Council

Former Head of Art Department and Teacher of gifted Children

Member of Christchurch City Council Creativity Team


Councillor David Close

MA (NZ) M.A. (Ess)

Chair, Strategy and Resources Committee

Chair, Canterbury Museum Trust Board

Director, Christchurch City Holdings Ltd


Councillor Ron Wright


Chair, Projects and Property Committee

Former Property and Development Manager for Magnum Corporation


Councillor Barbara Stewart

Deputy Chair of the Fendalton/Waimari Community Board

Member, Community Services and Central City Committees

Director of Skope Industries Ltd

Trustee (Former Chairman) Christchurch Symphony Orchestra

Board Member of NZ on Air

Christchurch Art Gallery ~ Media Releases index

This page is not a current Christchurch City Council document. Please read our disclaimer.
© Christchurch City Council, Christchurch, New Zealand | Contact the Council