9.7.2009

RICCARTON WIGRAM COMMUNITY BOARD 26 MAY 2009

Minutes of an Extraordinary Meeting of the Riccarton/Wigram Community Board held on 26 May 2009 at 8.30am in the Boardroom, Sockburn Service Centre, 149 Main South Road.

PRESENT:	Peter Laloli (Chairperson), Helen Broughton, Jimmy Chen, Mike Mora and Bob Shearing.	
APOLOGIES:	Apologies for absence were received and accepted from Beth Dunn and Judy Kirk.	۱

The Board reports that:

PART A – MATTERS REQUIRING A COUNCIL DECISION

1. APPLICATION TO THE 2008/09 RICCARTON WIGRAM DISCRETIONARY RESPONSE FUND – YOUTH DEVELOPMENT FUND

During consideration of this matter, the Board formed the opinion that the Council policy relating to the amount that can be transferred from the Board's Discretionary Response Fund to the Youth Development Scheme, needs to be reviewed.

BOARD RECOMMENDATION

That the Council review its Strengthening Communities Strategy with respect to removing the limit of up to \$10,000 from the Community Boards' Discretionary Response Funds to the Community Boards' Youth Development Schemes.

PART C - REPORT ON DELEGATED DECISIONS TAKEN BY THE BOARD

2. APPLICATION TO THE 2008/09 RICCARTON WIGRAM DISCRETIONARY RESPONSE FUND – YOUTH DEVELOPMENT FUND

The Board considered a report on the criteria of the Board's Discretionary Response Fund in relation to funding individuals.

STAFF RECOMMENDATION

It is recommended that the Board does not proceed to fund individuals from the 2008/09 Discretionary Response Fund or to transfer funds from the 2008/09 Discretionary Response Fund to the 2008/09 Youth Development Fund.

BOARD RECOMMENDATION

The Board **resolved**:

- (a) Not to accept the staff recommendation as the Board believes that there is a need to continually support youth within the Riccarton/Wigram ward.
- (b) That the Youth Development applicants, Shontayne Tuhoe and Marie-Claire Brehaut, be paid \$400 each from the 2008/09 Riccarton Wigram Discretionary Response Fund as a contribution towards the costs of their trips.

The meeting concluded at 8.40am.

CONFIRMED THIS 16TH DAY OF JUNE 2009.

PETER LALOLI CHAIRPERSON