22. CENTRAL PLAINS WATER TRUST: 2010 STATEMENT OF INTENT - REAPPOINTMENT OF TWO TRUSTEES AND FINANCIAL STATEMENT TO 31 DECEMBER 2008



General Manager responsible:	General Manager Regulations and Democracy Services, DDI 941-8462
Officer responsible:	General Manager Regulations and Democracy Services
Author:	Peter Mitchell, General Manager Regulations and Democracy Services

PURPOSE OF REPORT

- 1. The purpose of this report is to present, for the Council's consideration:
 - (a) the 2010 Statement of Intent of the Central Plains Water Trust; (Attachment A)
 - (b) the financial statement for the six months ending 31 December 2008; (Attachment B)
 - (c) the joint re-appointment of two Trustees.

FINANCIAL IMPLICATIONS

2. There are no direct financial implications in relation to the Central Plains Water Trust arising out of consideration of the 2010 Statement of Intent.

Do the Recommendations of this Report Align with 2006-16 LTCCP budgets?

3. See above.

LEGAL CONSIDERATIONS

4. The Statement of Intent is provided by the Trust as a Council Controlled Organisation in accordance with the provisions of the Local Government Act 2002.

Have you considered the legal implications of the issue under consideration?

5. Yes.

ALIGNMENT WITH LTCCP AND ACTIVITY MANAGEMENT PLANS

6. Not applicable.

Do the recommendations of this report support a level of service or project in the 2006-16 LTCCP?

7. Not applicable.

ALIGNMENT WITH STRATEGIES

8. No specific strategies involved.

Do the recommendations align with the Council's strategies?

9. Yes.

CONSULTATION FULFILMENT

10. Not applicable.

STAFF RECOMMENDATION

It is recommended that the Council:

- (a) Consider whether or not it wants to make any comments to the Central Plains Water Trust on the attached draft 2010 Statement of Intent.
- (b) Receive the Financial Statements for the six months ending 31 December 2008.
- (c) Confirm the appointment of Denis O'Rourke and Claire Williams for a term of three years commencing 1 July 2008.

STATEMENT OF INTENT

- 11. The Statement of Intent specifies for Central Plains Water Trust (CPWT) the objectives, the nature and scope of the activities to be undertaken, and the performance targets and other measures by which the performance of the group may be judged in relation to its objectives, amongst other requirements.
- 12. With regard to the attached 2010 Statement of Intent the Council's role, under the Local Government Act, is to make any comments as settlor to the Trustees on the draft Statement of Intent.
- 13. The Trustees are required to consider those comments before completing the final version of the Statement of Intent and delivering it to the Council.
- 14. If the Council does not have any comments to make then it could resolve that:

"The Central Plains Water Trust be advised that the Council has no comments to make on its 2010 Statement of Intent."

SIX MONTHLY FINANCIAL STATEMENT

- 15. Attached are the Trust's financial statements for the six months ended 31 December 2009.
- 16. The Central Plains Water Consent hearing commissioners have advised that an interim decision has been delayed and will not be available before May 2009.

REAPPOINTMENT OF TRUSTEES

- 17. CPWT is also seeking confirmation from Christchurch City Council for the reappointment of Denis O'Rourke and Claire Williams as Trustees. Ngāi Tahu has confirmed it wishes Mrs Williams to be reappointed as a trustee. Trustee appointments are made jointly by the Christchurch City Council and the Selwyn District Council.
- 18. The two trustees have been members of the CPWT for a number of years and have confirmed their wish to stay as members of the Trust for the foreseeable future.
- 19. The appointment of Mr O'Rourke and Mrs Williams expired on 30 June 2008 and due to an oversight by the writer (who believed these appointments expired on 30 June 2009) it is recommended that Mr O'Rourke and Mrs Williams be reappointed by the Council as trustees for a three year term commencing on 1 July 2008.
- 20. Selwyn District Council has confirmed that it has appointed Mr O'Rourke and Mrs Williams for a three year term commencing 1 July 2008.
- 21. Accordingly it is recommended that Denis O'Rourke and Claire Williams be reappointed for a three year term commencing 1 July 2009.