14. 2. 2008

SHIRLEY/PAPANUI COMMUNITY BOARD 12 NOVEMBER 2007

A meeting of the Shirley/Papanui Community Board (including the installation of members) was held on Tuesday, 12 November 2007 at 9.30 am in the Board Room, Papanui Service Centre

- **PRESENT:** Megan Evans (Chairperson), Ngaire Button, Pauline Cotter, Aaron Keown, Matt Morris, Yvonne Palmer and Norm Withers
- APOLOGIES: Nil

The Board reports that:

PART B – REPORTS FOR INFORMATION

1. WELCOME

The Community Board Adviser, Peter Croucher, representing the Chief Executive, welcomed all present and outlined the procedures for this meeting.

2. GENERAL EXPLANATION ON LEGAL MATTERS

The Board **received** a report by the Legal Services Manager on the provisions of the following legislation:

- (a) Local Government Official Information and Meetings Act 1987,
- (b) Local Authorities (Members' Interests) Act 1968,
- (c) Sections 99, 105 and 105A of the Crimes Act 1961,
- (d) Secret Commissions Act 1910,
- (e) Securities Act 1978.

3. REPORT OF THE ELECTORAL OFFICER

A report from the Electoral Officer setting out the results of the elections held on 13 October 2007 was **received**.

The Special Voting system was queried in terms of postal delays.

The high number of informal votes was queried.

It was **agreed** to ask the Electoral Officer to provide a breakdown of informal votes.

4. APPOINTMENT OF COUNCILLORS AS MEMBERS OF COMMUNITY BOARDS

The Board **received** information advising that at its installation meeting on 24 October 2007, the Council had resolved to appoint Councillors Ngaire Button and Norm Withers to the Shirley/Papanui Community Board for the 2007/10 term.

14. 2. 2008

Shirley/Papanui Community Board 12.11.2007

PART C - REPORTS ON DELEGATED DECISIONS TAKEN BY THE BOARD

5. ORAL DECLARATION BY MEMBERS ATTESTED IN THE PRESENCE OF THE GENERAL MANAGER, REGULATION AND DEMOCRACY SERVICES REPRESENTING THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE

Members completed their oral declarations in the presence of the General Manager, Regulation and Democracy Services, representing the Chief Executive.

6. ELECTION OF CHAIRPERSON

The Board **resolved** that System A be adopted as the method of voting.

Nominations were called for the position of Chairperson.

Yvonne Palmer was nominated by Ngaire Button, seconded by Norm Withers

Megan Evans was nominated by Aaron Keown, seconded by Pauline Cotter.

Yvonne Palmer received three votes.

Megan Evans received four votes.

Megan Evans was elected Chairperson of the Shirley/Papanui Community Board for the 2007/10 term.

7. ORAL DECLARATION BY THE CHAIRPERSON ATTESTED IN THE PRESENCE OF THE GENERAL MANAGER, REGULATION AND DEMOCRACY SERVICES REPRESENTING THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE

Megan Evans took the oral declaration as Chairperson in the presence of the General Manager, Regulation and Democracy Services, representing the Chief Executive and assumed the Chair for the remainder of the meeting.

8. ELECTION OF DEPUTY CHAIRPERSON

The Board **resolved** that System A be adopted as the method of voting.

Nominations were called for the position of Deputy Chairperson.

Matt Morris was nominated by Yvonne Palmer. The nomination lapsed for want of a seconder.

Pauline Cotter was nominated by Aaron Keown, seconded by Megan Evans.

Pauline Cotter was elected Deputy Chairperson for the current term.

9. FIRST ORDINARY MEETING OF THE BOARD

The Board **resolved** that the first ordinary meeting of the Board take place on Wednesday, 21 November 2007 at 4.00 pm, in the Board Room, Papanui Service Centre.

14. 2. 2008

Shirley/Papanui Community Board 12.11.2007

10. NEW ZEALAND COMMUNITY BOARDS' EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE ELECTIONS – CALL FOR NOMINATIONS

The Board considered a report on the nominations for the positions of Zone 5 Representative and Deputy Representative for the New Zealand Community Boards' Executive Committee.

Nominations were called for the position of Representative.

Yvonne Palmer was nominated by Ngaire Button, seconded by Norm Withers.

Aaron Keown was nominated by Megan Evans, seconded by Pauline Cotter.

Yvonne Palmer was declared this Board's preferred Representative.

Nominations were called for the position of Deputy Representative.

Mike Mora (Riccarton/Wigram Community Board) was nominated by Yvonne Palmer, seconded by Norm Withers.

Aaron Keown was nominated by Megan Evans, seconded by Pauline Cotter.

Aaron Keown was declared this Board's preferred Deputy Representative.

The Board **resolved**:

- 1. That the Board Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson, or their nominees, be authorised to consider the opportunity provided for joining with another Board(s) in nominating and/or seconding suitable member candidates for election to the positions of Zone 5 Representative and Deputy Representative for the new Zealand Community Boards' Executive Committee.
- 2. That the exercise of any such authorisation be reported to the Board for record purposes.
- 3. That Yvonne Palmer and Aaron Keown be the Board's preferred candidates for the Zone 5 Representative and Deputy Representative respectively.

The meeting concluded at 10.30 am.

CONFIRMED THIS 21^{ST} DAY OF NOVEMBER 2007

MEGAN EVANS CHAIRPERSON