RICCARTON/WIGRAM COMMUNITY BOARD 19 NOVEMBER 2007

A meeting of the Riccarton/Wigram Community Board (including the installation of members) was held on Monday 19 November 2007 at 8am in the Board Room, Sockburn Service Centre

PRESENT: Peter Laloli (Chairperson), Helen Broughton, Jimmy Chen, Beth Dunn,

Judy Kirk, Mike Mora, Bob Shearing.

APOLOGIES: Nil

The Board reports that:

PART B - REPORTS FOR INFORMATION



1. WELCOME

The General Manager Regulation and Democracy Services, representing the Chief Executive, welcomed all present and outlined the procedures for the meeting.

2. GENERAL EXPLANATION ON LEGAL MATTERS

The Board **received** a report by the Legal Services Manager on the provisions of the following legislation:

- (a) Local Government Official Information and Meetings Act 1987,
- (b) Local Authorities (Members' Interests) Act 1968,
- (c) Sections 99, 105 and 105A of the Crimes Act 1961,
- (d) Secret Commissions Act 1910,
- (e) Securities Act 1978.

3. REPORT OF THE ELECTORAL OFFICER

A report from the Electoral Officer setting out the results of the elections held on 13 October 2007 was **received**.

4. APPOINTMENT OF COUNCILLORS AS MEMBERS OF COMMUNITY BOARDS

The Board **received** information advising that at its installation meeting on 24 October 2007, the Council had resolved to appoint Councillors Helen Broughton and Bob Shearing to the Riccarton/Wigram Community Board for the 2007/10 term.

Riccarton/Wigram Community Board 19.11.2007

PART C – REPORTS ON DELEGATED DECISIONS TAKEN BY THE BOARD

5. ORAL DECLARATION BY MEMBERS ATTESTED IN THE PRESENCE OF THE GENERAL MANAGER, REGULATION AND DEMOCRACY SERVICES REPRESENTING THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE

Members completed their oral declarations in the presence of the General Manager, Regulation and Democracy Services, representing the Chief Executive.

6. ELECTION OF CHAIRPERSON

The Board **resolved** that System A be adopted as the method of voting for the election of the Chairperson and the Deputy Chairperson

Nominations were called for the position of Chairperson.

Peter Laloli was nominated by Helen Broughton, seconded by Beth Dunn.

Mike Mora was nominated by Judy Kirk, seconded by Jimmy Chen.

Peter Laloli received four votes.

Mike Mora received three votes.

Peter Laloli was then declared elected as Chairperson of the Riccarton/Wigram Community Board for the 2007/10 term.

7. ORAL DECLARATION BY THE CHAIRPERSON ATTESTED IN THE PRESENCE OF THE GENERAL MANAGER, REGULATION AND DEMOCRACY SERVICES REPRESENTING THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE

Peter Laloli took the oral declaration as Chairperson in the presence of the General Manager, Regulation and Democracy Services, representing the Chief Executive, and assumed the Chair for the remainder of the meeting.

8. ELECTION OF DEPUTY CHAIRPERSON

Nominations were called for the position of Deputy Chairperson.

Mike Mora was nominated by Bob Shearing, seconded by Judy Kirk.

No other nominations were received.

Mike Mora was then declared elected as Deputy Chairperson of the Riccarton/Wigram Community Board for the 2007/10 term.

9. FIRST ORDINARY MEETING OF THE BOARD

The Board **resolved** that the first ordinary meeting of the Board be held on Tuesday 4 December 2007 at 5pm, in the Board Room, Sockburn Service Centre.

The Board **resolved** that the second ordinary meeting of the Board be held on Tuesday 18 December 2007.

14. 2. 2008

Riccarton/Wigram Community Board 19.11.2007

10. NEW ZEALAND COMMUNITY BOARDS' EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE ELECTIONS – CALL FOR NOMINATIONS

The Board considered a report on the nominations for the positions of Zone 5 Representative and Deputy Representative for the New Zealand Community Boards' Executive Committee.

Nominations were called for the position of Representative.

Yvonne Palmer was nominated by Bob Shearing, seconded by Mike Mora.

Yvonne Palmer was declared this Board's preferred Representative.

Nominations were called for the position of Deputy Representative.

Mike Mora was nominated by Bob Shearing, seconded by Jimmy Chen.

Mike Mora was declared this Board's preferred Deputy Representative.

The Board **resolved** that Yvonne Palmer and Mike Mora be nominated as the Board's preferred candidates for the Zone 5 Representative and Deputy Representative, respectively.

11. SALE OF LIQUOR LICENCES

The Board held a discussion on the timeliness of receiving application information in relation to Sale of Liquor licences.

The meeting concluded at 8.35am.

CONFIRMED THIS 4TH DAY OF DECEMBER 2007

PETER LALOLI CHAIRPERSON