## LYTTELTON-MT. HERBERT COMMUNITY BOARD 6 NOVEMBER 2007

# A meeting of the Lyttelton/Mt Herbert Community Board was held on Tuesday 6 November 2007 at 3pm

PRESENT: Jeremy Agar, Doug Couch, Ann Jolliffe, Dawn Kottier, Claudia Reid,

and Paula Smith

APOLOGIES: Nil



#### PART B - REPORTS FOR INFORMATION

#### 1. WELCOME

The Democracy Services Manager, on behalf of the Chief Executive, welcomed people to the inaugural meeting of the Lyttelton/Mt Herbert Community Board for the 2007/2010 triennium.

### 2. GENERAL EXPLANATION

The Board **received** a report by the Legal Services Manager on the provisions of the following legislation:

- (a) Local Government Official Information and Meetings Act 1987,
- (b) Local Authorities (Members' Interests) Act 1968,
- (c) Sections 99, 105 and 105A of the Crimes Act 1961,
- (d) Secret Commissions Act 1910,
- (e) Securities Act 1978.

### 3. REPORT OF THE ELECTORAL OFFICER

The Board **received** the Electoral Officer's report on the recent elections.

### 4. APPOINTMENT OF COUNCILLORS AS MEMBERS OF COMMUNITY BOARDS

The Community Board Adviser reported to the Board that at its installation meeting on 24 October 2007, the Council resolved to appoint Councillor Claudia Reid to the Lyttelton/Mt Herbert Community Board for the 2007/10 term.

The Board received the information.

## **PART C - DELEGATED DECISIONS**

## 5. ORAL DECLARATION BY MEMBERS ATTESTED IN THE PRESENCE OF THE DEMOCRACY SERVICES MANAGER REPRESENTING THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE

All Community Board members completed declarations which were attested by the Democracy Services Manager, on behalf of the Chief Executive.

#### 14. 2. 2008

### Lyttelton/Mt Herbert Community Board 6.11.2007

### 6. ELECTION OF CHAIRPERSON

The Board considered a report outlining voting systems which it could adopt when voting for the election of a Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson.

The Board **resolved** to adopt the voting system A, as per the circulated report, for use when electing the Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson.

The Manager Democracy Services called for nominations for the position of Chairperson of the Lyttelton/Mt Herbert Community Board.

Paula Smith was nominated by Jeremy Agar and seconded by Dawn Kottier.

There being no further nominations, Paula Smith was duly elected Chairperson of the Lyttelton/Mt Herbert Community Board.

## 7. ORAL DECLARATION BY CHAIRPERSON ATTESTED IN THE PRESENCE OF THE DEMOCRACY SERVICES MANAGER REPRESENTING THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE

Paula Smith completed the Chairperson's declaration in the presence of the Democracy Services Manager representing the Chief Executive.

### 8. ELECTION OF DEPUTY CHAIRPERSON

The Chairperson called for nominations for the position of Deputy Chairperson of the Lyttelton/Mt Herbert Community Board.

Jeremy Agar was nominated by Claudia Reid and seconded by Dawn Kottier.

There being no further nominations, Jeremy Agar was duly elected Deputy Chairperson of the Lyttelton/Mt Herbert Community Board.

### 9. FIRST ORDINARY MEETING OF THE BOARD

The Board **resolved** that the first ordinary meeting of the Lyttelton/Mt Herbert Community Board be held on Wednesday 12 December 2007 at 9.30am (the venue of the meeting to be decided by staff).

## 10. NEW ZEALAND COMMUNITY BOARDS' EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE ELECTIONS - CALL FOR NOMINATIONS

The Board resolved that:

- (a) The Board Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson, or their nominees, be authorised to consider the opportunity provided for joining with another board(s) in nominating and/or seconding suitable member candidates for election to the positions of Zone 5 Representative, and Deputy, for the New Zealand Community Boards' Executive Committee.
- (b) That the exercise of any such authorisation be reported to the Board for record purposes.

The meeting concluded at 3.30pm

**CONSIDERED THIS 12TH DAY OF DECEMBER 2007** 

PAULA SMITH CHAIRPERSON