#### 17. 5. 2007

#### LYTTELTON/MT HERBERT COMMUNITY BOARD AKAROA/WAIREWA COMMUNITY BOARD JOINT EXTRAORDINARY MEETING 7 MARCH 2007

#### An extraordinary joint meeting of the Lyttelton/Mt Herbert Community Board and Akaroa/Wairewa Community Board was held on Wednesday 7 March 2007 at 4.30pm in the Little River Service Centre, Little River

PRESENT:	Stewart Miller (Chairperson), Jeremy Agar, Stuart Bould, Ann Jolliffe, Dawn Kottier, Steve Lowndes, Bryan Morgan, Bob Parker and Claudia Reid.
APOLOGIES:	Apologies for absence were received and accepted from Winston McKean and Eric Ryder.

The Board reports that:

#### PART B – REPORTS FOR INFORMATION

#### 1. ELECTED MEMBERS' REMUNERATION 2007/08

The Boards considered a report from the Council Secretary inviting input to the Council on their preferred option for the allocation of the 2007/08 Remuneration Pool, after the 2007 election amongst the elected members of the Christchurch City Council and the eight Christchurch Community Boards. The Boards were also invited to confirm with any suggested amendments, the role responsibility templates developed by the HayGroup for Community Board Chairs and Community Board members.

The Chairperson tabled an additional option to the four remuneration options circulated with the agenda that provided for the salaries for the chairs and members of the two Banks Peninsula boards to be paid at rates equivalent to 70% of those paid to the chairs and members of the six metropolitan community boards. Members **agreed** that this further option be referred to the Council for consideration.

From the ensuing discussion, members also reaffirmed their support for the elected member remuneration principles adopted by the Council on 11 May 2006, and the job sizing carried out by the HayGroup, which assessed the work of Banks Peninsula Board members as equivalent to 97% of their urban counterparts. However, members did dispute the accuracy of the average hours worked by elected members quoted in the HayGroup report. As a consequence, disagreement was expressed with all four options developed by the HayGroup.

Also suggested was that members should be reimbursed for childcare expenses incurred whilst fulfilling their duties as elected members.

The Boards decided to **recommend** to the Council:

- 1. That the present salaries be continued until the 2007 elections.
- 2. That there be no differentials in the salaries paid to the chairs and members of the eight community boards.
- 3. That all community board members receive a standard communications allowance of \$120 per month, and be provided with laptops, printers and full support, plus a Jetstream Broadband connection with a standard refund of \$40 per month for Broadband.
- 4. That subject to the approval of the Remuneration Authority childcare expenses incurred by elected members in attending to their duties be reimbursed by the Council.

#### 17. 5. 2007

# Lyttelton/Mt Herbert Community Board & Akaroa/Wairewa Community Board 7.3.2007

#### 1 Cont'd

5. The adoption of the Local Government New Zealand's role description template for community board members, rather than the template developed by the HayGroup.

#### The Boards also **decided**:

- 1. To agree with the elected member remuneration principles adopted by the Council on 11 May 2006, and the job-sizing carried out by the HayGroup, which assessed the work of the Banks Peninsula board members as equivalent to 97% of their urban counterparts.
- 2. To dispute the accuracy of the average hours worked by elected members, quoted in the HayGroup report.
- 3. To record its disagreement with all of the four options developed by the HayGroup.

## PART C - REPORT ON DELEGATED DECISIONS TAKEN BY THE BOARD

## 2. APPOINTMENT OF MEETING CHAIRPERSON

Stewart Miller was appointed Chairperson for this meeting.

The meeting concluded at 6.05pm.

# CONFIRMED THIS 18<sup>TH</sup> DAY OF APRIL 2007

## CLAUDIA REID CHAIRPERSON

# CONFIRMED THIS 24<sup>TH</sup> DAY OF APRIL 2007

STEWART MILLER CHAIRPERSON