6. ELECTED MEMBERS' REMUNERATION 2007/08

The Board considered a report by the Council Secretary on the remuneration and expenses and allowances payable to elected members for 2007/08. The Board's recommendations on this matter were incorporated in the report to the Council for consideration at its meeting of 23 March 2007.

The Board **decided** to recommend to the Council that:

- (a) All elected member salaries (with the exception of the Mayor) be continued at their present levels until the sitting members go out of office following the October 2007 elections.
- (b) It be recommended to the incoming Council that for the balance of the 2007/08 year following the elections:
 - (i) Salaries for the chairs and members of the Akaroa/Wairewa Community Board and Lyttelton/Mt Herbert Community Board be continued at their existing levels.
 - (ii) The salaries for the Deputy Mayor, Councillors and chairs and members of the six metropolitan community boards be reduced on a pro-rata basis, so that the total payments can be accommodated within the 2007/08 remuneration pool of \$1,581,844.
- (c) That the schedule of elected member allowances and expenses be amended to provide for the:
 - (i) payment of the standard communication allowance of \$120 per month to all Community Board members.
 - (ii) the provision of laptops, printers and full support to all Community Board members.
 - (iii) the provision of a Jetstream/Broadband connection for all Community Board members, with members to receive the standard refund of \$40 per month for such connection.
- (d) That the role description for Community Board members developed by Local Government New Zealand be adopted by the Council, in preference to the role description developed by the HayGroup.
- (e) That the Council make representations to the Minister of Local Government requesting that all elected member salaries be prescribed on a national basis within set population bands, as was previously the case when elected member salaries were set via Determinations issued from time to time by the Minister of Local Government.

(Note: Bob Shearing abstained from the voting on recommendations b and e).