9. CHRISTCHURCH CITY PROPOSED NEW SPEED LIMITS

The Board considered this report seeking its support to speed limit changes on roads within the Hagley/Ferrymead community. The report was part of the consultation process on speed limit changes being undertaken by Transport and Greenspace Unit staff prior to reporting back to the Council for a final decision.

At the Council meeting on 21 September 2006 the Council resolved that for the purposes of the required consultation "any local community" would also include the Community Board in respect to whose area the roads lie.

Mr Malcolm Taylor, Traffic Engineer, Transport and Greenspace Unit, attended for this item and spoke further to the report.

The Board expressed its concern that the proposed higher speed limits as recommended in the report could lead to a further increase in average speeds on these roads and an increase in accidents.

The staff recommendations were considered individually and on being put to the meeting were decided as follows:

The Board decided to advise the Manager, Transport and Greenspace Unit that it:

- (a) Supported the speed limit on Moorhouse Avenue from Blenheim Road east generally, along Moorhouse Avenue to Lincoln Road being set at 60 km/h.
- (b) Did not support.
 - (i) The speed limit on Harper Avenue from Park Terrace west generally, along Harper Avenue to Deans Avenue, being set at 60 km/h.
 - (ii) The speed limit on Deans Avenue from Harper Avenue south generally, along Deans Avenue to Riccarton Road, being set at 60 km/h.
 - (iii) The speed limit on Riccarton Avenue from Riccarton Road east generally, along Riccarton Avenue to a point measured 100 metres west of the traffic signals at the entrance to the Christchurch Public Hospital, being set at 60 km/h.

Note: The staff recommendation in respect to clause (b)(i) above, seeking an increase in the speed limit on Harper Avenue, from Park Terrace west generally, along Harper Avenue to Deans Avenue to 60 km/h, on being put to the meeting was declared **lost** on division number one by four votes to two, the voting being as follows:

In favour (2) David Cox, Anna Crighton

Against (4) John Freeman, Yani Johansen, Brendan Smith, Bob Todd