### 3.8.2006

## AKAROA-WAIREWA COMMUNITY BOARD 17 MARCH 2006

## A meeting of the Akaroa-Wairewa Community Board was held on Friday 17 March 2006 at 9.30am

PRESENT: Steve Lowndes, Winston McKean, Stewart Miller, Bryan Morgan, Bob Parker, Eric Ryder

APOLOGIES: Nil

The Board reports that:

# **PART B - REPORTS FOR INFORMATION**

### 1. ORAL DECLARATION BY MEMBERS ATTESTED IN THE PRESENCE OF THE GENERAL MANAGER, REGULATION AND DEMOCRACY SERVICES REPRESENTING THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE

All Board members declared that they would faithfully and impartially, and according to the best of their skill and judgement, execute and perform, in the best interests of the Lyttelton/Mt Herbert community, the powers, authorities, and duties vested in or imposed upon them as a number of the Akaroa/Wairewa Community Board by virtue of the Local Government Act 2002, the Local Government Act 2002, the Local Government official Information and Meetings Act 1987, or any other Act.

The Board members' declarations were signed in the presence of the Board and witnessed by the General Manager, Regulation and Democracy Services.

# 2. ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN

The Administration Manager called for nominations.

Bryan Morgan, seconded by Eric Ryder, nominated Stewart Miller.

There being no further nominations, Stewart Miller was declared elected Chairman.

### 3. ORAL DECLARATION BY THE CHAIRPERSON ATTESTED IN THE PRESENCE OF THE GENERAL MANAGER, REGULATION AND DEMOCRACY SERVICES REPRESENTING THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE

Stewart Miller declared that he would faithfully and impartially, and according to the best of his skill and judgement, execute and perform, in the best interests of the Akaroa and Wairewa communities, the powers, authorities, and duties vested in or imposed upon him as Chairman of the Akaroa-Wairewa Community Board by virtue of the Local Government Act 2002, the Local Government Act 2002, the Local Government Official Information and Meetings Act 1987, or any other Act.

The declaration was signed in the presence of the Board and witnessed by the General Manager, Regulation and Democracy Services.

Stewart Miller then assumed the Chair. He acknowledged the contribution made by previous Chairmen of the Board – Mrs Marlene Woods, Mr Peter Higinbottom, Mr Eric Ryder and Mr Bryan Morgan. Other members noted the many years of contribution Mr Miller had made to the Banks Peninsula District Council and congratulated him on his election as Chairman for the upcoming term.

# 3. 8. 2006

# Akaroa-Wairewa Community Board 17.3.2006

# 4. ELECTION OF DEPUTY CHAIRMAN

The Chairman called for nominations.

Winston McKean, seconded by Bob Parker, nominated Steve Lowndes.

There being no further nominations, Steve Lowndes was declared elected Deputy Chairperson.

# 5. REPORT OF THE ELECTORAL OFFICER

The Electoral Officer reported on the results of the 25 February 2006 elections, outlining the successful candidates and providing various voting statistics.

The Board **received** the information.

# 6. APPOINTMENT OF COUNCILLOR AS MEMBER OF THE COMMUNITY BOARD

Members were advised that at its meeting on 9 March 2006, the Council resolved to appoint Councillor Bob Parker to the Akaroa-Wairewa Community Board for the 2006-09 term.

The Board **received\_the information**.

# 7. FIRST ORDINARY MEETING OF THE BOARD

### Ryder / Lowndes

The Board **resolved** to next meet on Friday 21 April 2006 at 9.30 am at the Gaiety Hall, Akaroa.

Mr Parker said he would like it placed on record, the contribution that had been made by the General Manager Regulation & Democracy and the Secretariat Manager towards the transition process for the newly elected Community Boards. He said their level of support had been outstanding.

The Chairman endorsed Mr Parker's remarks and noted that City Council staff generally had been exceptionally helpful in trying to inform Board members of the Council processes. He also acknowledged the contribution of the Administration Manager who had been supporting the Akaroa-Wairewa Community Board since its inception in 1989.

The meeting concluded at 9.50 am.

STEWART MILLER CHAIRMAN