5. TRAFINZ CONFERENCE - NAPIER, JULY 2004

Officer responsible	Author
	Kevin Roche, Committee Secretary, DDI 941-8536

The purpose of this report is to obtain approval for the attendance of Councillors Denis O'Rourke, Chairman, Sustainable Transport and Utilities Committee, and a member of the TRAFINZ Executive, and Ingrid Stonhill, Chairperson, Christchurch Road Safety Coordinating Committee, at the annual conference of the Local Authority Traffic Institute of New Zealand (TRAFINZ) conference which will be held in Napier in July 2004.

The annual conference for TRAFINZ is this year being held from Sunday 18 July to Wednesday 21 July 2004 in Napier. It will commence with a TRAFINZ executive meeting and a number of keynote speakers from New Zealand and overseas, including Dr Claes Tingvall (Monash University and past director Road Safety Sweden) and Professor Ian Johnson (Director Monash University Accident Research Centre), will speak. In addition CEOs from the ACC, ECCA, Transfund and Transit New Zealand will attend together with the Minister of Transport, Hon Paul Swain.

The conference has previously been attended by elected representatives and represents an opportunity for them to network with other TLA elected representatives involved in the areas of transport and traffic safety and to keep abreast with current issues and ideas in these areas.

The estimated costs for the attendance of two people is as follows, (GST exclusive):

Airfares \$560 Accommodation \$780 Registration \$1,160 Miscellaneous \$320

Total \$2,820 plus GST

Committee

Recommendation: That Councillors Denis O'Rourke and Ingrid Stonhill (Chairperson

Christchurch Road Safety Coordinating Committee) attend the 2004

TRAFINZ Conference.