CHRISTCHURCH CITY COUNCIL

MINUTES OF A MEETING OF THE CANTERBURY REGIONAL LANDFILL JOINT COMMITTEE

Held in the Council Chamber, Civic Offices on Monday 20 April 2009 at 9am

PRESENT: Councillor Sally Buck (Chairman) (Christchurch City Council)

Councillor Robbie Brine (Waimakariri District Council)

Mayor Garry Jackson (Hurunui District Council) Councillor Lindsay Philps (Selwyn District Council) Councillor Bob Shearing (Christchurch City Council) Councillor Bev Tasker (Ashburton District Council) Councillor Mike Wall (Christchurch City Council)

IN ATTENDANCE: Mark Christison (Christchurch City Council)

Zefanja Potgieter (Christchurch City Council)

Jane Parfitt (Christchurch City Council)
Simon Collin (Christchurch City Council)
Dave Hock (Selwyn District Council)
Brian Lester (Ashburton District Council)
Gary Booth (Waimakariri District Council)
Peter Langbein (Christchurch City Council)

Warren Brixton (Christchurch City Council – Minute Secretary).

APOLOGIES: Councillor Bev Tasker retired at 9.50am.

1. MINUTES OF MEETING - 11 AUGUST 2008

It was **resolved** that the minutes of the Canterbury Regional Land Fill Joint Committee held on 11 August 2008, be confirmed.

2. MATTERS ARISING

Nil.

3. TRANSWASTE CANTERBURY LIMITED – INTERIM REPORT TO 31 DECEMBER 2008

The Chairman, Gill Cox, Steven Watson (of TCL) and Martin Pinkham (CWS) were in attendance to present the interim report and clarify any matters including:

- Complaints regarding construction noise
- The costs and margins charged to Ashburton District Council

It was **resolved** that the report be received.

4. TRANSWASTE CANTERBURY LIMITED – DRAFT STATEMENT OF INTENT

The Chairman presented a PowerPoint update and responded to questions.

An interim dividend of \$1.5 million is to be paid but expected earnings in the next two years will have some impact on dividends.

It was **resolved** that the Committee approve the Draft Transwaste Canterbury Limited Statement of Intent for the years ending June 2010-2012.

5. TRANSWASTE CANTERBURY LIMITED – APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRPERSON

Consideration was given to the appointment of Mr Gill Cox as Chairman for a further period.

It was **resolved** that the Committee's Directors on Transwaste Canterbury Limited be instructed to move the appointment of Mr Gill Cox as Chairperson of the Board for the period 9 June 2009 to 8 June 2011.

The meeting concluded at 10.05am