CHRISTCHURCH CITY COUNCIL

MINUTES OF A MEETING OF THE CANTERBURY WASTE JOINT COMMITTEE

Held in the Council Chamber, Civic Offices on Monday 10 March 2008 at 10.35am

PRESENT:	Councillor Robbie Brine (Waimakariri District Council)
	Councillor Sally Buck (Christchurch City Council)
	Councillor Pat Harrow (Environment Canterbury)
	Mayor Garry Jackson (Hururuni District Council)
	Councillor Ross Little (Environment Canterbury)
	Councillor Lindsay Philps (Selwyn District Council)
	Councillor Dave Pullen (Mackenzie District Council)
	Councillor John Ransley (Kaikoura District Council)
	Councillor Bob Shearing (Christchurch City Council)
	Councillor Bev Tasker (Ashburton District Council)
	Councillor Mike Wall (Christchurch City Council)
IN ATTENDANCE:	Mark Christison (Christchurch City Council)
	Zefanja Potgieter (Christchurch City Council)
	Simon Collin (Christchurch City Council)
	Brian Purcell (Waimate District Council)
	Dave Hack (Selwyn District Council)
	Darren Patterson (Environment Canterbury)
	Sally Cracknell (Hururuni District Council)
	Kitty Waghorn (Waimakariri District Council)
	Trudy Geoghegan (Environment Canterbury)
	John McGartland (Mackenzie District Council)
	Sue Winter (Christchurch City Council)
	Tony Moore (Christchurch City Council)
	Brian Gallagher (Timaru District Council)
	Kevin Crutchley (Christchurch City Council)
	Tony McKendry (Christchurch City Council)

1. ELECTION OF CHAIRPERSON

The Minute Secretary presiding:

Councillor Sally Buck, Christchurch City Council, being the only nomination received was declared elected by the Minute Secretary, who then vacated the chair.

Councillor Buck in the chair.

2. APOLOGIES

Apologies for absence were received and accepted from Councillors Matt Henderson (Waimate District Council) and Terry Kennedy (Timaru District Council).

An apology for early departure was received from Councillor Mike Wall who left the meeting at 11.38am and was absent for part of clause 7 & clause 8.

3. ELECTION OF DEPUTY CHAIRPERSON

Councillor Bev Tasker, Ashburton District Council, being the only nomination received, was declared elected.

4. MEETING DATES FOR 2008

The Committee **resolved** to adopt the following schedule of meetings as set out in the agenda.

Canterbury Waste Joint Committee	Meeting Dates 2008 (10.30am)
Monday 14 April 2008	
Monday 19 May	Back up date – only if required
Monday 9 June 2008	
Monday 14 July	Back up date – only if required
Monday 11 August 2008	
Monday 8 September	Back up date – only if required
Monday 13 October 2008	
Monday 10 November	Back up date – only if required
Monday 8 December 2008	

5. TERRANOVA CHARITABLE TRUST – TRUSTEE APPOINTMENT

The Committee considered a report from Kevin Roche, Assistant Council Secretary, Christchurch City Council, seeking approval of the Joint Committee to:

- A revised policy on the appointment of trustees/directors to Council organisations
- The appointment of a trustee to the Board of the Terranova Charitable Trust in accordance with its Trust Deed.

At this stage Councillor Robbie Brine left the meeting.

The Committee **resolved** to:

- 1. Adopt the tabled revised policy on the appointment and remuneration of directors/trustees to Council organisations.
- 2. Appoint Councillor Robbie Brine as a trustee to the Board of the Terranova Charitable Trust in accordance with the requirements of the Terranova Charitable Trust Board deed.

Councillor Brine returned to the meeting.

6. PROJECTS UPDATE

The Committee **resolved** to receive a report from Zefanja Potgieter on current waste minimisation projects.

The Committee responded to presentations from:

- "Tip the balance on waste".
- A presentation from Environment Canterbury.
- "Compost made from green waste boosts production".

- A presentation from Brian Gallagher, Timaru District Council, which outlined the increase in production of both rye grass and forage kale crops from the application of compost.
- "Target Sustainability".
- Kevin Crutchley, Christchurch City Council, discussed this programme which provides free support to help Christchurch businesses become sustainable through reducing waste and being energy and water efficient.

The Chairperson thanked the presenters for their time and effort given to these excellent presentations.

7. CANTERBURY HAZARDOUS WASTE SUBCOMMITTEE

The Committee considered a report from Trudy Geoghegan and Darren Patterson, Environment Canterbury which discussed:

- 1. The background and work of the above Subcommittee.
- 2. Potential impacts of changing the current structure.
- 3. Advantages and disadvantages of such a change.

The Committee **resolved** to adopt the following recommendation:

"That the Canterbury Hazardous Waste Subcommittee continue to function in its current form".

The Joint Committee then made the following appointments in respect of their respective groupings:

Environment Canterbury:	_	Councillors Pat Harrow and Ross Little
Christchurch City Council:	_	Councillor Bob Shearing
Kaikoura, Hururuni and Waimakariri District Councils:	_	Councillor Robbie Brine
Selwyn and Ashburton District Councils:	_ _	Councillor Lindsay Philps
Timaru, Mackenzie and Waimate District Councils:	_	To be advised

8. INFORMATION SHARING

Shared items of interest.

The meeting concluded at 11.45am.