CHRISTCHURCH CITY COUNCIL

MINUTES OF A MEETING OF THE CANTERBURY REGIONAL LANDFILL JOINT COMMITTEE

Held in the Council Chamber, Civic Offices on Monday 10 March 2008 at 9.30am

PRESENT:	Councillor Robbie Brine (Waimakariri District Council) Councillor Sally Buck (Christchurch City Council) Mayor Garry Jackson (Hurunui District Council) Councillor Lindsay Philps (Selwyn District Council) Councillor Bob Shearing (Christchurch City Council) Councillor Bev Tasker (Ashburton District Council)
	Councillor Mike Wall (Christchurch City Council)
IN ATTENDANCE:	Mark Christison (Christchurch City Council) Zefanja Potgieter (Christchurch City Council) Jane Parfitt (Christchurch City Council) Simon Collin (Christchurch City Council) Dave Hock (Selwyn District Council) Kitty Waghorn (Waimakariri District Council) Sally Cracknell (Hurunui District Council) Tony McKendry (Christchurch City Council – Minute Secretary)

1. ELECTION OF CHAIRPERSON

The Minute Secretary presiding:

Councillor Sally Buck, Christchurch City Council, being the only nomination received was declared elected by the Minute Secretary, who then vacated the chair.

Councillor Buck in the chair.

2. APOLOGIES

Nil.

3. ELECTION OF DEPUTY CHAIRPERSON

Councillor Bev Tasker, Ashburton District Council, being the only nomination received, was declared elected.

4. CORRESPONDENCE

Messrs Christison and Potgieter advised that a letter covering points discussed with the Chief Executive, Kaikoura District Council, held in December 2007 had been sent to the District Council. They understood that the Kaikoura District Council has a preference for a shareholding in the Kate Valley Landfill rather than be a commercial user.

5. MEETING DATES

The Committee **resolved** to adopt the following schedule of meetings set out in the agenda.

Canterbury Regional Landfill Joint	Meeting Dates 2008 (9.30am)
Committee	
Monday 14 April 2008	(<i>Time 9.00am</i>)
Monday 19 May	Back up date – only if required
Monday 9 June 2008	
Monday 14 July	Back up date – only if required
Monday 11 August 2008	
Monday 8 September	Back up date – only if required
Monday 13 October 2008	
Monday 10 November	Back up date – only if required
Monday 8 December 2008	

6. POLICY ON THE APPOINTMENT OF DIRECTORS: TRANSWASTE CANTERBURY LTD

The Committee considered a report from Kevin Roche, Assistant Council Secretary, Christchurch City Council, seeking the approval of the Joint Committee to:

- A revised policy on the appointment of directors to the Board of Transwaste Canterbury Ltd (TCL)
- The extension of the terms of the current directors
- The initiation of the process for appointment of directors to forthcoming vacancies on the Board of TCL

Mr Roche attended the meeting and spoke to the report.

Arising from a preliminary discussion on the report, Councillors Sally Buck and Robbie Brine, current directors, retired from the meeting at this point and Councillor Bev Tasker assumed the chair for consideration of this matter.

Mr Gill Cox (Chairman of TCH) joined the meeting, with Councillor Bev Tasker (Deputy Chairperson) in the chair.

Mr Cox provided a brief history on Transwaste, in particular its governance, and responded to questions from the Committee.

The Committee **resolved** to adopt the following amended recommendation:

(a) Adopt the policy in Attachment A (as amended) that the four director appointments made by the Joint Committee to the Board of TCL comprise two external and two internal directors as its revised policy on the appointment and remuneration of directors to Transwaste Canterbury Ltd.

- (b) Extend the terms of the current directors as follows:
 - (i) Mr Gill Cox to the date of the 2011 AGM of TCL.
 - (ii) Mr Gerry Clemens to the date of the 2009 AGM of TCL.
 - (iii) Councillor Sally Buck to the balance of the 2007-2010 triennium.
 - (iv) Councillor Robbie Brine to August 2008.

Councillors Buck and Brine returned to the meeting and Councillor Tasker vacated the chair.

Amendment to Attachment A

• Paragraph 2:

The Councillor director representing the CCC should be nominated by the three CCC representatives on the CWSC in accordance with the provisions contained in the Constituting Agreement.

• Paragraph 3:

The four shareholder Councils of the Canterbury Regional Landfill Joint Committee other than the Christchurch City Council, will be responsible for the nomination of candidates for the one director representing them, who shall be one of the councillors appointed by the four shareholder Councils, other than the Christchurch *City Council, to the Canterbury Regional Landfill Joint Committee.*

7. TRANSWASTE CANTERBURY LTD QUARTERLY REPORT AND INTERIM ACCOUNTS

Due to time restraints, the Committee **resolved** to defer this clause to the next meeting.

8. TRANSWASTE CANTERBURY LTD 2009 DRAFT STATEMENT OF INTENT

Due to time restraints, the Committee resolved to defer this clause to the next meeting.

9. NEXT MEETING

The Committee **resolved** to hold the next meeting on Monday 14 April 2008 commencing at **9.00am**.

The meeting concluded at 10.28am.