6. COMMUNITY SERVICES COMMITTEE MEETING – REPORT OF 22 MAY 2007

General Manager responsible:	General Manager Regulation and Democracy Services
Officer responsible:	Democracy Services Manager
Author:	Janet MacDougall, Acting Community Board Secretary.

PURPOSE OF REPORT

The purpose of this report is to submit the following outcomes of the Community Services Committee meeting held on 22 May 2007.

The meeting was attended by Val Carter (Chairperson), Faimeh Burke, Cheryl Colley, Andrew Yoon and Mike Wall.

APOLOGIES

Apologies for absence were received and accepted from Sally Buck and Pat Harrow.

2. **COMMUNITY SERVICE AWARDS 2007 – NOMINATIONS**

SECTION 7(2)(A)

The Committee considered in 'public excluded' the summarised details of the 18 nominations received for this year's Fendalton/Waimairi Community Service Awards.

COMMITTEE DECISIONS

1. Exercising its 'power to act' the Committee resolved that Community Service Awards for 2007 be made to the following:

Mary Howden - Christchurch North Citizen's Advice Bureau (Mike Wall declared a conflict of interest and abstained from voting and the discussion thereon.)

Warren Hudson – Volunteer reader, Bishopdale School

Owen Charles Jones - Parish of Fendalton

Phil King - Chairman, Crossfire Trust

Nancy Murray - Christchurch North Citizen's Advice Bureau (Mike Wall declared a conflict of interest and abstained from voting and the discussion thereon.) Lauren Sutcliffe – Leader, 47th Christchurch Company of Girls Brigade

Marjorie Eunice Symonds - Bishopdale Community Trust

Rosemary Walton - Convenor, Westburn School Travel Plan

Robyn Hunter Young - Memorial Rose Garden St James Anglican Church, Riccarton

Takao Katsumoto - Police Volunteers, Fendalton Service Centre (Mike Wall and Andrew Yoon declared a conflict of interest and abstained from voting and the discussion thereon.)

Mark Lu - Police Volunteers, Fendalton Service Centre (Mike Wall and Andrew Yoon declared a conflict of interest and abstained from voting and the discussion thereon.)

William Leonard (Leo) Powley - Police Volunteers, Fendalton Service Centre (Mike Wall and Andrew Yoon declared a conflict of interest and abstained from voting and the discussion thereon.)

Mitsuko Yoshida - Police Volunteers, Fendalton Service Centre (Mike Wall and Andrew Yoon declared a conflict of interest and abstained from voting and the discussion thereon.) Victor Albert Ellena - Police Volunteers, Fendalton Service Centre (Mike Wall and Andrew Yoon declared a conflict of interest and abstained from voting and the discussion thereon.) Takayoshi Kamiya - Police Volunteers, Fendalton Service Centre (Mike Wall and Andrew Yoon declared a conflict of interest and abstained from voting and the discussion thereon.)

- 2. That the nominations of Faye Jean Fleming, Edward Neill Pickard and Cherie Dawn Porter be upgraded and considered for Civic Award recognition. If these nominations are declined for a Civic Award, the nominations need to be referred back to the Committee for recognition.
- 3. That the award for Warren Hudson be presented at the Bishopdale School at a time and date to be decided.
- 4. That a presentation function hosted by the Board be held on Thursday 28 June 2007 at 4.00 pm, at the Russley Golf Club.

The meeting concluded at 8.25 am.

STAFF RECOMMENDATION

That the report be received and the Committee recommendations be adopted.

CHAIRMAN'S RECOMMENDATION

Information is yet to be received.