CHRISTCHURCH CITY COUNCIL

MINUTES OF A MEETING OF THE CANTERBURY REGIONAL LANDFILL JOINT COMMITTEE

Held in the Mayor's Lounge, Civic Offices on Wednesday 31 January 2007 at 9am

PRESENT: Councillor Sally Buck (Christchurch City Council) (Chairman),

Mayor Garry Jackson (Hurunui District Council), Councillor Lindsay Philps (Selwyn District Council), Councillor Bob Shearing (Christchurch City Council) and Councillor Bev Tasker (Ashburton District Council).

IN ATTENDANCE: Dave Hock (Selwyn District Council),

Zefanja Potgieter, Ian Thomson (Christchurch City Council),

Bruce Yates (Hurunui District Council), Brian Lester (Ashburton District Council),

Tammara McKernon (Ashburton District Council),

Don Young (Waimakariri District Council), Jane Parfitt (Christchurch City Council) and

Kevin Roche (Secretary, Christchurch City Council).

APOLOGIES: Apologies for absence were received and accepted from

Councillor Robbie Brine (Waimakariri District Council),

Councillor Sue Wells (Christchurch City Council),

Mark Christison and Simon Collin (Christchurch City Council).

1. RESOLUTION TO EXCLUDE THE PUBLIC

In response to a question from a member, Mr Thomson explained the reasons why in his view the report to be considered by the Committee, on the purchase by Transpacific Industries of Envirowaste Services Ltd South Island interests, should be public excluded. These related to the fact that this matter had yet to be placed before the Christchurch City Council for its consideration and that it was also intended to discuss issues relating to the constitution which were considered to be confidential.

It was **resolved** that the resolution to exclude the public set out on page 2 of the agenda be adopted.

The open section of the meeting concluded at 9.05am.