5. COMMUNITY SERVICE AWARDS

General Manager responsible:	Stephen McArthur
Officer responsible:	Catherine McDonald, Community Support Manager
Author:	James Ryan, Community Engagement Manager ph 941 6289

PURPOSE OF REPORT

1. The purpose of this report is to advise the Board of the proposed programme for Community Service Awards 2006.

BACKGROUND

- 2. Each year, the metropolitan Boards recognise local groups or individuals who have provided significant community service through Community Service Awards. In Banks Peninsula these awards have usually been held every two years. 2006 is the year when these would ordinarily be held. The Board should give consideration as to whether these should be held annually or continue to be held every two years.
- 3. It is proposed that advertising for the awards would be placed in The Christchurch Press and the Akaroa Mail. Local community groups, including residents' groups will be sent nomination forms which will also be available at service centres and local libraries.
- 4. It is proposed that the nomination process will begin on 30 June and close on 1 August 2006. Once the nomination forms have been collated, they would be presented as a 'Public Excluded' item at the Board's meeting on 16 August 2006 for members to decide whom the recipients of the awards should be.
- 5. It is proposed to hold an awards ceremony in September. This ceremony could be a combined with one from the Lyttelton/Mt Herbert Community Board.

FUNDING

6. The awards in the metropolitan boards are funded from the Board's project funding. Previously funding for the ceremony came from the former Banks Peninsula Council. Costs are expected to be in the region of \$1500.

STAFF RECOMMENDATIONS:

- 1. That the information be received.
- 2. That consideration is given to holding Community Service Awards annually.
- 3. That the Board consider the 2006 Community Service Award nominations at the 16 August Board meeting and the awards will be presented at a ceremony in September.
- 4. That up to \$1500 for the costs of community service awards is funded from 2006/07 discretionary funding.