# 12. ELECTION OF ZONE 5 NEW ZEALAND COMMUNITY BOARDS' EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE DEPUTY REPRESENTATIVE

Officer responsible Secretariat Manager Graha	or am Sutherland, Community Secretary, DDI 941-5305
---	--

#### **PURPOSE OF REPORT**

The purpose of this report is to advise that an election is being held for the position of Zone 5
Deputy Representative for the New Zealand Community Boards' Executive Committee and to
determine the Board's preferences.

### **EXECUTIVE SUMMARY**

2. Christchurch community boards are located in Zone 5 of Local Government New Zealand's areas of representation. Yvonne Palmer is currently the Zone 5 Representative and also chairs the Executive Committee. Yvonne Palmer was the only nomination for Zone 5 Representative and therefore no election for that position will be required.

There are three candidates for the election of Deputy Representative. They are (alphabetically):

- Joe Bell, Golden Bay Community Board;
- Glenda Burt, Burwood/Pegasus Community Board; and
- Mike Mora, Riccarton/Wigram Community Board.
- 3. Brief Curriculum Vitaes of the three candidates have been provided and have been distributed separately to Board members. The election uses a preferential system of voting and the Board is therefore requested to rank its preferences for the candidates from 1 to 3. It may however, vote for only one if it chooses. Voting papers need to be returned by 23 February 2005.

## FINANCIAL AND LEGAL CONSIDERATIONS

There are no financial considerations.

## STAFF RECOMMENDATION

It is recommended that the Board agree to its preferential vote for the Zone 5 New Zealand Community Boards' Executive Committee Deputy Representative and authorise the Chairperson or Deputy Chairperson to sign the voting form.

#### CHAIRPERSON'S RECOMMENDATION

That the Board rank the candidates in order of preference from 1 to 3 and authorise the Deputy Chairperson to sign the voting form.