6. CANTERBURY WASTE SUBCOMMITTEE - APPOINTMENT OF A TRUSTEE TO THE RECOVERED MATERIALS FOUNDATION (RMF)

Officer responsible	Author
General Manager City Environment	Kevin Roche, Committee Secretary, DDI 941-8536

PURPOSE OF THE REPORT

The purpose of this report is to inform the Subcommittee of the role of the Canterbury Waste Subcommittee (CWSC) in appointing a trustee to the Board of the RMF and to seek confirmation/review in terms of the appointment policy adopted by the Subcommittee.

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

The RMF is a Charitable Trust established under the Charitable Trusts Act of 1957. The rules of the Trust currently allow for the Christchurch City Council to appoint two trustees and the Canterbury Waste Subcommittee (CWSC) to also appoint two trustees.

At its meeting of 8 December 2003 the Subcommittee appointed Councillor Robbie Brine and Mr John Stroh as trustees representing the CWSC on the board of the RMF from February 2004.

Councillor Brine was appointed to represent the northern councils in the CWSC ie (Kaikoura District Council, Hurunui District Council, Waimakariri District Council, Banks Peninsula District Council and Mr John Stroh the southern councils ie (Selwyn District Council, Ashburton District Council, Timaru District Council, Waimate District Council and Mackenzie District Council). Note: A further amendment to the Trust deed is being finalised by the RMF to reduce the number of trustees appointed by the CWSC to one only ie Councillor Robbie Brine, with Mr John Stroh appointed to represent the southern councils via the Aoraki Waste Busters Charitable Trust. This reduction in the number of Council appointees was in order to amend its status from a Council controlled organisation (CCO) to Council organisation (CO) and to safeguard against it being possibly considered as a Council controlled trading organisation (CCTO) with associated tax related issues.

The policy adopted by the Council on 8 September 2004 provides that trustees are normally appointed for a three-year term at the first meeting of the Subcommittee following the triennial local government elections. While normally the term of Councillor Brine would expire following the elections, his original appointment was not made until 8 December 2003 and a three-year term from that date would expire on 8 December 2006, some 11 months approximately before the October 2007 triennial elections. It would be appropriate therefore for the CWSC and the northern group of Councils therefore to review this appointment with a view to confirming it to February 2008 to ensure future compliance with the three-year cycle envisaged in the policy.

FINANCIAL AND LEGAL CONSIDERATIONS

There are no financial considerations. The Trust deed of the RMF when varied will allow for nine trustees to be approved as follows:

- Christchurch City Council (2),
- Canterbury Waste Subcommittee (1),
- Canterbury Development Corporation (1),
- Canterbury Manufacturers Association (2),
- Canterbury Employers Chamber of Commerce (2), and
- Aoraki Waste Busters Charitable Trust (1)

Total nine.

Note: As this is a matter relating to the general administration of the subcommittee all members may vote on the basis of one vote each, with the proviso that the three Christchurch City Council votes may only be cast as a block and cannot be split.

STAFF RECOMMENDATION

That	tho	Suh	omn	nittee.
i nai	1116	\sim 111111	7 11 1 1 1 7	111122

- 1. Note the information contained in the above report.
- 2. Consider if it wishes to confirm/extend the term of the current appointee to the Board of the RMF in consultation with the four northern council members.