1. APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRPERSON AND DEPUTY CHAIRPERSON - CANTERBURY JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE (CJSC)

Officer responsible	Author
City Water and Waste Manager	Kevin Roche, Committee Secretary, DDI 941-8536

PURPOSE OF THE REPORT

The purpose of this report is to appoint the Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson of the Committee.

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

Clause 18 of the Revised Constituting Agreement for the Canterbury Joint Standing Committee, adopted by all 10 member councils in September 2003, provides that the Committee shall appoint a Chairperson (who must be an elected member appointed by the Christchurch City Council) and a Deputy Chairperson (who must be an elected member appointed by the other councils other than the Christchurch City Council).

At its meeting on 11 November 2004 the Christchurch City Council resolved that Councillors Sally Buck, Bob Shearing and Sue Wells be appointed as its representatives on the Canterbury Joint Standing Committee.

The formal approval of the Committee is therefore sought to the appointment of one of the above three elected representatives as Chairperson of the CJSC and to the appointment of a Deputy Chairperson from amongst the remaining nine members.

FINANCIAL AND LEGAL CONSIDERATIONS

There are no financial considerations. It should be noted that the process above is as specified within the Constituting Agreement and cannot be varied. As this is a matter relating to the general administration of the CJSC all members of the Committee may vote on the basis of one vote each, with the exception that the three votes of the Christchurch City Council representatives may only be cast as a block and may not be split.

STAFF RECOMMENDATION

It is recommended:

- (a) That one of Councillors Sally Buck, Bob Shearing and Sue Wells be appointed as Chairperson of the Canterbury Joint Standing Committee.
- (b) That a Deputy Chairperson be appointed in accordance with the criteria specified in the Constituting Agreement.

BACKGROUND

The CJSC consists of all 10 Canterbury territorial local authorities and is formed as allowed by clause 30 of Schedule 7 of the Local Government Act 2002. It was initially established in 1999 with the objective of establishing a regional landfill and fostering co-operation on a regional basis to minimise waste to landfill. Some six of the 12 member councils are also shareholders in Transwaste Canterbury Ltd, the joint venture company formed with Canterbury Waste Services Ltd to establish and operate the regional landfill.

The CJSC delegates all its powers and responsibilities to the CWSC which is responsible in terms of the Memorandum of Understanding, Joint Venture Company Shareholders Agreement and Constitution for the appointment of nominee directors to Transwaste Canterbury Ltd, monitoring of the company's performance and exercising of voting rights. In addition all 10 member councils have executed a regional waste management agreement.

Appointment of a Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson is part of the normal triennial process for the establishment of the Committee. It should be noted that all 10 member councils have now formally adopted the required resolution to establish the Canterbury Joint Standing Committee and Canterbury Waste Subcommittee and noted that it will continue to operate with the existing Constituting Agreement until such time as this is revised to accommodate the legislative changes made by the Local Government Act 2002.

OBJECTIVES

To continue the operation of the CJSC and CWSC.

OPTIONS

There are no other possible options as failure to appoint a Chairperson or Deputy Chairperson as required by the Constituting Agreement would not allow the Committee and Subcommittee to function.