1. REGIONAL WASTE MINIMISATION REPORT – UPDATE

The Subcommittee considered a report on the final draft of the regional waste minimisation initiatives, prepared by the Recovered Materials Foundation, which had been separately circulated prior to the meeting. Mr Graeme King, CEO, and Ms Sarah Gordon of the Recovered Materials Foundation, and Ms Andrea Lobb, consultant, attended and spoke to the report.

The process involved in the preparation of the report, key changes which had been made from the initial presentation in March, executive summary and conclusions were spoken to. The opportunity was taken to display a number of OHP slides showing additional statistical tables and to answer questions from members.

These related to:

- The need for some of the assumptions behind the table and data to be recorded by way of footnotes.
- Clarification of some of the data provided in the tables.
- Clarification in respect to information on waste disposal in respect to material types.

It was agreed that any corrections from member councils be conveyed to the RMF by the end of May.

The opportunity was taken to discuss the conclusions in the report and the means by which the recommendations could be progressed if members so wished. The desirability of consulting with community organisations involved in recycling was also stressed.

It was agreed that the following action be taken:

- 1. The Recovered Materials Foundation to finalise the report incorporating the changes as discussed at the meeting and any other additional information provided by member councils.
- 2. A workshop comprising staff and elected representatives would meet in June to clarify issues.
- 3. On completion of the above workshop Councils would consult with local groups involved in recycling and waste minimisation.
- 4. The matter would then be reported back to the July meeting of the Canterbury Waste Subcommittee for further consideration.

It was agreed membership of the workshop to be undertaken in June should consist of Councillor Bev Tasker Ashburton District Council), Councillor Denis O'Rourke (Christchurch City Council), Bruce Yates (Hurunui District Council), Chris Hopman (Banks Peninsula District Council), Don Young (Waimakariri District Council), Brian Gallagher (Timaru District Council) and Zefanja Potgieter (Christchurch City Council).

The services of the RMF in facilitating the workshop were accepted and it was agreed that Mr King would liaise with the Councillors and council staff involved regarding a date.

