REPORT OF THE CITY MANAGER

1. APPOINTMENT OF COUNCIL REPRESENTATIVES TO COMMUNITY BOARDS

1. A Community Board may include members appointed by the Council who must be Councillors representing the wards in which the community is situated.

The number of Councillors shall not at any time be more than half the number of six elected members of the Community Board.

The Council must, in deciding whether a Community Board should include appointed members and in deciding the number of appointed members, have regard to the numbers of persons elected both to the Community Board and the Council.

2. At the recent elections six members (three from each of the two wards comprising a community) were elected to each of the six Community Boards within Christchurch.

The maximum number of Councillors able to be appointed by the Council to each Board is therefore three.

- 3. Section 101ZQ(4) of the Local Government Act now provides, through an amendment in 2001, that if the Council wishes to appoint as a member of a Community Board a person who at the triennial election has been elected as a member of the Community Board then:
 - (a) the Council may make that appointment at the inaugural meeting; but
 - (b) the appointment does not take effect unless the person appointed resigns from the position of elected member of the Community Board the following day.

The vacancy created by such a resignation must be filled by the declaration of the highest polling un-elected candidate to that vacated position being declared elected to the Board.

This process has application with regard to Councillors Alpers, Anderton and Broughton. If a Councillor wished to use section 101ZQ(4) they could choose to foreshadow this at the Inaugural Council meeting and then resign from the Board by giving notice to myself on Friday 9 November. Any such decision to resign from the Board is wholly at the discretion of the individual.

4. It is necessary for the Council to resolve which of three Councillors are to be appointed to each of the following Community Boards:

Fendalton/Waimairi Community Board Burwood/Pegasus Community Board Hagley/Ferrymead Community Board Shirley/Papanui Community Board

The Council may also resolve to appoint three Councillors not elected directly to the Board to the Riccarton/Wigram Community Board and to appoint two or three Councillors to the Spreydon/Heathcote Community Board if the option provided by section 101ZQ(4) is not exercised.

5. It should be noted that pursuant to section 101ZT of the Local Government Act, Community Boards elect their own chairperson.

Recommendation:

- 1. That the Council appoint three Councillors to the Burwood/Pegasus, Hagley/Ferrymead, Fendalton/Waimairi, Riccarton/Wigram and Shirley/Papanui Boards.
- 2. That the Council appoint two or three Councillors to the Spreydon/Heathcote Board.