REPORT NO 2 BY THE CHAIRMAN OF THE STRATEGY AND RESOURCES COMMITTEE

3. OUTPUTS AND STANDARDS REVIEW: APPOINTMENT OF SPECIAL COMMITTEES

RR 10913

This clause should be read in conjunction with clause 3 of the Strategy and Resources Committee report and clause 2 of the public excluded report of the Chairman of the Strategy and Resources Committee.

The City Manager reports:

Since this item was prepared, the Legal Services Manager advises that the Council is unable to make appointments to standing committees which are on the basis that the persons appointed only attend some aspects of a committee's work and not other matters. Therefore if the persons named in the public excluded report were to be appointed to the individual standing committees, then they would be entitled to act as full members of the committee, attend all meetings and vote on matters which is not the intention in relation to the outputs and standards of review.

The Council's objective can be achieved by appointing five Outputs and Standards Review Special Committees, with Councillors and the external appointees being appointed to the appropriate committees.

All persons would be remunerated in the normal way for meetings of the special committees.

The Local Government Act 1974 empowers the Council to appoint to a committee any person who, in the Council's opinion, has knowledge that will assist the work of the committee.

The appointment of the external members of the special committees will be dealt with while the public is excluded from the meeting.

Chairman's

Recommendation:

That, pursuant to section 114P of the Local Government Act 1974, the Council appoint the following special committees for the purposes of the outputs and standards project:

Strategy and Resources Special Committee

Councillor David Close (Chairman), The Mayor, Councillors Carole Anderton, Graham Condon, Anna Crighton, Carole Evans, Pat Harrow, Ian Howell, Alister James, Denis O'Rourke, Gail Sheriff, Barbara Stewart and Ron Wright.

3 Cont'd

City Services Special Committee

Councillor Denis O'Rourke (Chairman), The Mayor, Councillors Robin Booth, Sally Buck, David Buist, David Close, Graham Condon, Morgan Fahey, Ian Howell, Charles Manning, Sally Thompson and Ron Wright.

Community Services Special Committee

Councillor Carole Anderton (Chairman), The Mayor, Councillors Paddy Austin, Erin Baker, Sally Buck, Barry Corbett, Ishwar Ganda, Lesley Keast, Barbara Stewart, Sally Thompson and Sue Wells.

Joint Environment and Resource Management Special Committee

Councillor Anna Crighton (Chairman), The Mayor, Councillors Robin Booth, David Buist, Barry Corbett, Carole Evans, Pat Harrow, Lesley Keast, Charles Manning, Sally Thompson and Sue Wells.

Parks and Recreation Special Committee

Councillor Graham Condon (Chairman), The Mayor, Councillors Carole Anderton, Paddy Austin, Erin Baker, Sally Buck, David Buist, Barry Corbett, Ishwar Ganda, Pat Harrow and Gail Sheriff.

CONSIDERED THIS 28TH DAY OF OCTOBER 1999

MAYOR