# MINUTES OF THE INAUGURAL MEETING OF THE CANTERBURY JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE

Held on Monday 7 December 1998 in the Council Chamber, Civic Offices, 163 Tuam Street, Christchurch at 10.00 am

**PRESENT:** Councillor Denis O'Rourke (Christchurch City Council, Chairman),

Councillor Bev Tasker (Ashburton District Council),
Mayor Noeline Allan (Banks Peninsula District Council),
Councillor David Close (Christchurch City Council),
Councillor Ron Wright (Christchurch City Council),
Councillor Gerald Herbert (Hurunui District Council),
Councillor Bill Woods (Selwyn District Council),
Councillor Lee Burdon (Timaru District Council),
Mayor Janice Skurr (Waimakariri District Council),
Councillor John Coles (Waimate District Council).

**IN ATTENDANCE:** Mayor Michael McEvedy (Selwyn District Council),

Councillor Stan Scorringe (Mackenzie District Council),

Eddie Thomas (Selwyn District Council), Brian Gallagher (Timaru District Council), Paddy Clifford (Hurunui District Council),

Eddie Parker (Banks Peninsula District Council), Alister McGaughran (Waimate District Council),

Brian Hasell (Ashburton District Council), Don Young (Mackenzie District Council), Mike Stockwell (Christchurch City Council), Eric Park (Christchurch City Council),

Zefanja Potgieter (Christchurch City Council),

Philip Taylor (Buddle Findlay), Annabel Waterfield (Buddle Findlay) Dennis Morgan (Committee Secretary).

**DEPUTATION BY** Councillor Peter Yeoman, Councillor Judy Waters, and

**APPOINTMENT:** Mike Freeman, Canterbury Regional Council

**APOLOGY:** An apology for absence was received from the Kaikoura

**District Council** 

## 1. CANTERBURY JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP

It was resolved that the Committee constitutes the following:

Ashburton District Council, Councillor Bev Tasker
Banks Peninsula District Council, Mayor Noeline Allan
Christchurch City Council, Councillors Denis O'Rourke, David Close and Ron Wright
Selwyn District Council, Councillor Bill Woods
Hurunui District Council, Councillor Gerald Herbert
Waimakariri District Council, Mayor Janice Skurr
Waimate Disctrict Council, Councillor John Coles
Timaru District Council, Councillor Lee Burdon

It was further resolved that the Mackenzie District Council and Kaikoura District Council be admitted to the Committee subject to them passing the appropriate resolution by the end of June 1999.

## 2. ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN

Councillor Denis O'Rourke was nominated and seconded for the position of Chairman and there being no further nominations was duly elected to that position.

## 2. DEPUTATION BY APPOINTMENTS CANTERBURY REGIONAL COUNCIL

Councillor Peter Yeoman in association with Councillor Judy Waters addressed the meeting on behalf of the Canterbury Regional Council. Apologies were extended on behalf of the Chairman, Richard Johnson and Deputy Chairman, Sir Hamish Hay.

The Canterbury Regional Council had sought membership of the Canterbury Joint Standing Committee in view of the Council's interest in all aspects of waste disposal but more particularly the disposal of hazardous waste.

Councillor Judy Waters noted that the Canterbury Regional Council representatives had attended meetings of the Canterbury Waste Joint Standing Committee with observer status. In addition \$60,000 had been contributed to technical reports prepared on the regional hazardous waste strategy. Committee members agreed that the Canterbury Regional Council should not be excluded from the hazardous waste function of the proposed Canterbury Waste Sub-Committee. However, processes were now partly completed bringing together the Canterbury Joint Standing Committee and the Canterbury Waste Sub-Committee. The addition of the Canterbury Regional Council at this stage would delay these processes.

Mike Freeman on behalf of the Canterbury Regional Council confirmed that the Council would not wish to delay the current process.

It was suggested that the Canterbury Regional Council be included in discussion on matters other than the regional landfill.

It was resolved that the request from the Canterbury Regional Council to become a member of both the Canterbury Joint Standing Committee and the proposed Canterbury Waste Sub-Committee be referred to the Canterbury Waste Sub-Committee for consideration.

## 4. CANTERBURY WASTE SUB-COMMITTEE

It was resolved:

- 1. That the Canterbury Waste Sub-Committee be constituted, membership being the members of the Canterbury Joint Standing Committee, and include members representing Mackenzie District Council and the Kaikoura District Council subject to them passing the appropriate resolutions by the end of June 1999.
- 2. That Councillor Denis O'Rourke be appointed Chairperson.
- 3. That all functions, duties and powers in respect of solid and hazardous waste matters of the Committee be delegated to the Canterbury Waste Sub-Committee and that such delegations be recorded in the delegations register.
- 4. That the functions, power and duties delegated in relation to the operation of JV Co and associated transport and collection systems may not be revoked other than in accordance with the Constituting Agreement between the participating Councils.
- 5. That pursuant to the provisions of the Public Bodies Contracts Act 1959 the Sub-Committee shall report to the constituent Councils on all contracts entered into set out below.
  - (a) In respect of contracts pursuant to clause 3(a) of the Constituting Agreement the Sub-Committee shall report annually to the constituent Councils on all capital expenditures and operating expenditure incurred in any financial year.
  - (b) In respect of contracts pursuant to clause 3(c) of the Constituting Agreement, the Sub-Committee shall report annually to the constituent Councils on all expenditure up to \$50,000.

Any expenditure beyond these limits shall be reported to the constituent Councils at their next ordinary meeting.

The meeting concluded at 11.30 am