## 5. LOCAL GOVERNMENT NEW ZEALAND FORTHCOMING ELECTIONS FOR PRESIDENT AND VICE PRESIDENTS

RR 9621

Officer responsible City Manager	Author Dennis Morgan
Corporate Plan Output: Public Accountability	

The purpose of this report is to advise of the forthcoming Local Government New Zealand elections, and have the committee consider whether it wishes to nominate people to the positions of president and vice-presidents.

Nominations have been called for the positions of President and two Vice Presidents of Local Government New Zealand. The term of appointment for all three positions is for three years. The Chief Executive Local Government New Zealand advises that the closing date for nominations is Friday 7 May 1999.

A list of validly nominated candidates will be circulated to all members as soon as possible after 7 May 1999 and be included with the AGM business papers. The ballot papers for the elections will be issued at the AGM to be held in the Aotea Centre, Auckland on the morning of 14 July 1999.

If the Council wishes to nominate a candidate for any of the three positions the nomination will require the seconding of a supporting Council.

Under recent revisions to the constitution of LGNZ, any person who was an elected member on the 31 May of the year before the election (in this case 31 May 1998) is eligible for election to the position of president. A president may not hold office for two consecutive terms.

For the positions of vice-presidents only those people (other than the President) who were National Councillors at 31 March 1999 are eligible for election. The National Council at 31 March 1999 is:

Mr Kerry Marshall, President of Local Government New Zealand

Mr Don Riesterer, Opotiki District Council (Vice President)

Ms Louise Rosson, Otago Regional Council (Vice President)

Ms Georgina Beyer, Carterton District Council

Mr Mark Blumsky, Wellington City Council

Mrs Frana Cardno, Southland District Council

Mr John Chaffey, Hurunui District Council

Mrs Dianne Hale, North Shore City Council

Mr Jim Peters, Northland Regional Council

Mr Wynne Raymond, Timaru District Council

Mr Paul Rieger, Manawatu-Wanganui Regional Council

Mrs Sukhi Turner, Dunedin City Council

Mr Philip Warren, Auckland Regional Council

Mr Gordon Blake, South Waikato District Council

**Recommendation:** That the Council consider whether it wishes to make

nominations to the positions of President and Vice

Presidents of LGNZ.