28. REPORT OF CHRISTCHURCH CO-ORDINATING COMMITTEE FOR TRAFFIC SAFETY RR 8780

The Committee received a report on discussion at the meeting of the Christchurch Co-ordinating Sub-Committee for Traffic Safety which includes education, awareness campaigns and the current programmes being co-ordinated by the Road Safety for Schools Steering Group.

The Steering Group was formed to co-ordinate Council initiatives relating to the movement of children to and from schools and safety at the school gate. Current programmes include Safe Routes to School, Cycle Safe and kea crossing trials. The group is committed also to the proposed trial of 40 km/h part-time speed limits outside five schools in the city. Previously Councillors Ron Wright and Carole Anderton have headed the steering group which draws on experience from various advocates and technical people within the Council, NZ Police, LTSA and the Primary Schools Principals Association.

The Committee agreed to reinstate the Road Safety for Schools Steering Group and **resolved** to appoint to Councillors Ron Wright and Sally Thompson as the Council's representatives.