## 2. CANTERBURY REGIONAL COUNCIL: JOINT COMMITTEE RR 8885 AND MEMBERSHIP OF REGIONAL COUNCIL COMMITTEES

The Canterbury Regional Council has advised that it seeks the appointment of Christchurch City Council representatives to the following joint committee and sub-committees:

## 2.1 Christchurch City Council/Canterbury Regional Council Joint Standing Committee

Six City Council representatives required. (During the last term of Council the city was represented by five Councillors being Councillors Crighton, Evans, Harrow, Murray and O'Rourke.)

## 2.2 Regional Land Transport Committee

Three City Council representatives required, to be drawn from the six city representatives appointed to the CCC/CRC Joint Standing Committee. (During the last term of Council the city had only one representative, being Councillor O'Rourke. The City Services Committee considers that no City Councillors should serve on this Committee, and that Stuart Woods (Senior Transportation Planner) should instead be appointed as this Council's sole representative)

## 2.3 Regional Civil Defence/Emergency Management Committee

Two Christchurch City Council representatives required, preferably to be drawn from the six city representatives on the Joint Standing Committee. (Councillor Howell previously served as the city's sole representative on this Committee.)

**Recommendation:** That the Council appoint representatives to each of the

three foregoing bodies.