8. CITY OF CHRISTCHURCH ENVIRONMENTAL AWARDS 2003

Officer responsible	Author
Director, Our City O-Tautahi	Jenny May, DDI 941-7461

The purpose of this report is to seek approval to run the above awards in 2003 and 2004 and to re-establish the 2002 judging panel.

The awards were first made in 1998 and have been made annually since then. One award each year is made in each of three categories:

- The Natural Environment
- The Built Environment
- Services to the Environment

The 2002 Awards were administered through Our City O-Tautahi. If the awards are to be offered this year the Council needs to re-establish the judging panel. In the past the panel has consisted of a combination of external expert appointees and Councillors. Last year the Council appointees were the Chairs of the Arts, Culture and Heritage, Urban Planning and Growth, and Parks, Gardens and Waterways Committees and the external appointees were Sir Miles Warren, Dr Brian Molloy and Mr John Dryden. It is suggested that subject to all members being available, the 2002 panel be reappointed for the 2003 and 2004 Awards.

An information sheet on the awards is tabled. The cost of administering the awards is approximately \$5,000 and this is included within the Our City O-Tautahi section of the Art Gallery budget.

Note: The Awards Panel is an unpaid judging panel.

Staff

Recommendation:

- 1. That the City of Christchurch Environmental Awards be run in 2003 and 2004.
- 2. That, subject to their availability, the 2002 panel be reappointed to judge the 2003 and 2004 awards.

Chair's

Recommendation:

- 1. That the above recommendation be adopted.
- 2. That the Council appointees on the Awards Panel be Councillors Anna Crighton, Sally Buck, Carole Anderton and Barbara Stewart.