17. COMMITTEE TERMS OF REFERENCE

Officer responsible	Author
Community Advocate	Clare Sullivan, Community Secretary, 372-2615
Corporate Plan Output: Advocacy	

The purpose of this report is to advise the Board of suggested terms of reference and processes for the standing committees the Board resolved to establish at its meeting on 21 November. Membership of committees was confirmed at that meeting. However, the Board may wish to appoint Brendan Smith and Denis O'Rourke to a committee.

Two of the committees have met and elected chairpersons.

It is anticipated that it will be some time before the full effect of the increased delegations on the Board and committee workloads can be assessed. It is suggested that the terms of reference and committee membership be reviewed after six months.

The quorum of a committee is two.

As noted in a report to the Board on 21 November Committee meetings will only be scheduled when they are required. Not every issue will go to a committee. The Board may also want to consider recommending that no sub-committee be appointed without the approval of the Board.

TERMS OF REFERENCE

In accordance with the Community Board Delegations and the Central City area as agreed to by the Council the following are suggested terms of reference for the committees.

Works and Traffic:	The consideration of traffic and city streets issues and bus stops. The consideration of Local Area Traffic Management Schemes (LATMS), Neighbourhood improvement Plans agreed in previous years to ascertain progress on implementation. Note: Central City is out of area of responsibility but Board members should be informed.
Membership:	Bob Todd, Rod Cameron, David Cox and John Freeman
Chairman:	David Cox
Environment:	The consideration of all matters relating to green space issues, parks and waterways, cemeteries, issues relating to the estuary, rivers and Living Streets and bylaws.
Membership:	Linda Rutland, Yani Johanson, John Freeman
Chairperson:	
Community Policy and Finance:	The consideration of issues relating to the Council's annual planning process, funding, consultation and communication, Out of School Programmes, allocation of Community Events and Special days fund and target groups such as children, youth and the elderly funding, community and social policies, community facilities, social initiatives.
Membership:	Bob Todd, Linda Rutland, Rod Cameron, David Cox, Erin Baker and Yani Johanson
Chairperson:	Linda Rutland
Chairman's Recommendation:	For discussion.