## Shirley/Papanui Community Board

## **About the Board**

The Shirley/Papanui Community Board is one of six community boards within the city of Christchurch.

The Board comprises six directly elected members and three members (Councillors) appointed by the Council, giving a total of nine members.

The Local Government Act 1974 details the purposes of Community Boards (Section 101ZY) and their functions, duties and powers (Section 101ZZ).

Community Boards undertake functions delegated by the Christchurch City Council and also have input into the Council's budget process. Community Boards have an obligation to communicate with local organisations and special interest groups. They also have an overview of community activities, recreational facilities, parks, water supply, sewerage, stormwater, drainage, road works and traffic management within the community.

The Community Board is not a separate authority. It is part of the elected structure of the Council and reports each month to the Council in the same way as the Council's Standing Committees.

The Community Board assists the Council in trying to achieve the best policy decisions for the city.



Mural designed and painted by Te Kaupapa Whakaora Trust and sponsored by Shirley/Papanui Community Board