## Page 17

Spreydon-Heathcote Community Board

The Spreydon-Heathcote Community Board is one of six community boards within the city of Christchurch.

The Board comprises of six directly elected members and three members (Councillors) appointed by the Council, giving a total of nine members.

The Local Government Act 1974 details the purposes of Community Boards (Section 101ZY) and their functions, duties and powers (Section 101ZZ).

Community Boards undertake tasks delegated by the Christchurch City Council and also have input into the Council's budget process. Community Boards have an obligation to communicate with community organisations and special interest groups. They have an overview of road works, water supply, sewerage, stormwater, drainage, parks, recreational facilities, community activities and traffic management within their community.

The Board has the delegated authority to deal with a number of local issues. The Board has an input to metropolitan matters such as the Pioneer Stadium and the Sport and Entertainment Centre but the implementation and decision making is carried out by the City Council.

The Community Board is not a separate authority. It is part of the elected structure of the Council and reports each month to the Council in the same way as the Council's standing committees. The Community Board assists the Council in trying to achieve the best policy decisions.

## Spreydon-Heathcote Community Board

## **Board** members



Oscar Alpers (Chairperson) 6 a MacMillan Ave Christchurch 2

Ph: 332-9749 (h) 379-1740 (b) Fax: 379-1789 (b) *(City Councillor)* 

**Phil Clearwater** 31 Maryhill Ave Christchurch 2

Ph: 388-2727 Fax: 377-1625 (b) 338-2799 (h)

**Morgan Fahey OBE** 

355-7854 (h)

385-3149 (b)

Fax: 385-1000 (b)

(City Councillor)

Ian Howell OBE

22 Takahe Dr

Christchurch 2

332-0668

Fax: 337-9938 (h)

(City Councillor)

43 Helmores Ln

Christchurch 2

Ph:

Ph:

Carole Anderton 286a Selwyn St Christchurch 2

Ph: 366-9628 Fax: 366-5863 (h) (City Councillor)

David Drayton 102 Huntsbury Ave Christchurch 2

Ph: 332-6216





Sonia Gill (Deputy Chairperson) 79 Dyers Pass Rd Christchurch 2

> Ph: 332-9420 (h) 337-1316 (b) Fax: 337-2675

**Trish Hunter** 182 Barrington St Christchurch 2

Ph: 337-0583 (h) 337-2731 (b) Fax: 337-2731 (b)













Ann Lewis 14 B Heaphy Pl Christchurch 2

Ph: 354-1620

Heathcote Comm Board

## Page 18